Potato Soup

I made the BEST Potato Soup for supper last night, yo.

I’ve never made potato soup before in my life, for two of three reasons (you pick):

1. Not enough protein.

2. Too much fat cream.

3. Potatoes are people too.

Yesterday, though, I forgot all about making plans for dinner until about 4:30, at which time nothing sounded good.  You know, of all the amazing work a housewife does, I think the most miraculous has to be the execution of three good tasting, nutritious meals per day.   I had almost decided that since it was just me and Pop, I was going to pack our bags and head to Panera for a bowl of broccoli cheddar soup (everything tastes better when I didn’t cook it).

And then I thought well, why not make my own creamy concoction?

Except we’d eaten all the broccoli in the house the day before and I only had one potato.

Undaunted, I set to work.  Here’s what I came up with:

Potato Soup:
1 lb ground chicken (or turkey or beef)
1 large potato, diced
1 large carrot, diced
1 stick of celery, diced
1/2-1 cup lentils*
1 small onion, sliced
seasoned salt
pepper
pinch of lemon (pepper, juice, or peel)
a beef bullion cube
Cook all of the above in a saucepan on high, stirring often, until hamburger is cooked through.  Add:
5 Tablespoons whole wheat flour
Stir.  Then add:
1 cup water
1 to 2 cups milk (I used 1%)
1 to 2 Tablespoons butter
Stir constantly until soup boils, turn down to low and simmer 15 minutes (minimum).  Just before serving, stir in:
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
serves 6.

Whala!  In less than 45 minutes, dinner was served.  It was healthy, it was gumptious, it was low fat, and it was good.  

Just ask Pop.  He had thirds.

*Lentils are a relatively new discovery for me, and I’ve been working them into all kinds of dishes since I learned how good they are for you: “This food is very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium. It is also a good source of Protein, Iron, Phosphorus and Copper, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Folate and Manganese.  Read More http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/legumes-and-legume-products/4338/2#ixzz1a7lbhA68

 

  1. #1 by Leah on October 7, 2011 - 8:30 pm

    this sounds good… and potato soup can be healthy! i make it with broth and just let the potatoes cook so long they make it thick themselves, with no milk or cream. i put lots of veggies in and you can add ham or sausage… yum!

Leave a Reply

