Guest Room #2 Redo

La Casa de Carr is 4BR/2.5BA.  Bedroom #1 belongs to me, and Tim if he’s nice.  Bedroom #2 is Pop’s.  And until very recently, the third room was for guests and the fourth room was for junk (and guests, if they weren’t nice).  I’d long since painted Bedrooms #1 and #2–but #3 and #4 were way down on my priority list.  Until very recently–when I realized we’d be hosting 3 couples and a baby (niece? nephew? niece?  nephew?) for Christmas.  Oooooh, yikes.

All that to say, I got my game on and tackled the junk room (i.e. #4, i.e. guest room #2). 

The obvious first step was to transfer all the junk from the junk room to the guest room (sort?  organize?  THROW AWAY?!?!?!  you’ve got to be kidding).

Second on the list: texturing the ceiling (to hide the cracks/bumps).  I used a rectangular kitchen sponge which I dipped into a bucket of drywall joint compound and then twisted onto the ceiling with a deft flick of the wrist (while standing on an upside down five-gallon bucket, of course ((which incidentally, is exactly where I was standing and what I was doing when we had our recent earthquake))).

Third (after spackling nail holes and sanding the walls smooth): a coat of paint on the ceiling followed closely by one on the walls–so that they would finally be the same color (I chose gray)!

Fourth came the furnishings.  We already had a bedroom set that originally belonged to my great grandparents, but no mattress.  On Labor Day weekend (hello, sales!), I dragged Tim mattress shopping.  Three stores later, we settled on a great mattress for a great price (you know, I could love being a paid mattress shopper.  All you have to do is sleep).  Whala!  We were in business just in time for our next round of company (phew!).

The rest of the pics:

This rocker is from my parents.  Eventually, I’d love to re-upholster it…but that’s definitely another project for another day. 

We picked up both these prints of Colonial Williamsburg at a garage sale last weekend, and they seemed appropriate for our new digs.  Maybe instead of referring to her as “Guest Room #2”, we’ll have to rechristen her “The Virginia”.

This copper pot with Delft handles is a dutch antique from my dutch and antique experts: Uncle Burton and Aunt Jessie.  I hope it’s okay that I turned it into a trash can. 

Here’s the vanity part of Great Grandma Toeset’s furniture.

Oooh, guests, look!  You’ll even get your own closet!

The moral of the story:

come visit!

Oh, yes, one last thing: the before/after shots.

  1. #1 by Sheryl on September 23, 2011 - 9:46 am

    The bedroom looks beautiful!

  2. #2 by Miriam on September 23, 2011 - 2:49 pm

    *snort* I was going to ask if that was a chamber pot beside the bed 😛 Glad you clarified. The “after” looks very nice!!

  3. #3 by Grace on September 23, 2011 - 5:12 pm

    Lovely! Is the ceiling sloped?

    I’m so glad you’re blogging again, I’ve missed you!
    Love, Grace

    • #4 by Cristy on September 26, 2011 - 4:25 pm

      Hi, Grace! The ceiling does slant a little bit…not sure why, since none of the others do. Oh, well. :-b

  4. #5 by Tierney on September 24, 2011 - 11:06 am

    The “after” pictures are so much lovelier than the “before”. Nice work!

    On another note – when I first glanced over this post yesterday, I was sitting on the floor in my room, and on my dresser (right next to my head, in fact) was resting what I’m sure is the same yellow Richard Scarry book setting on the vanity in one of your pictures (the one where you’re visible in the mirror). Our little brothers gave it to Cami for her birthday b/c she loved Richard Scarry when she was little.

    Anyway … I’m way too easily impressed by life’s little coincidences. 🙂

  5. #6 by Laura on September 25, 2011 - 9:59 pm

    It’s so beautiful! I love the gray and your new prints, and your furniture which is so familiar. You made it nice and bright and airy!

  6. #7 by Maria on September 28, 2011 - 7:45 am

    What a cozy and comfortable bedroom! Can’t wait to see it it person! (That means we’ll see you too!)

  7. #8 by joannamv on October 4, 2011 - 10:37 pm

    “transfer all the junk from the junk room to the guest room” – that is definitely what I spend most of my time doing! Well, was doing. Recently I’ve been trying to sort/organize, but that is soooo hard. Most things will probably end up in the garage, but some things can’t endure extreme temperatures so those are more tricky… Our house was not designed/built for people with hobbies that involved stuff :B

Leave a Reply

