Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

Tim and I just returned from a nice weekend in Kentucky with my parents in which we picked 3 gallons of blackberries and in which my mother offered a gentle reproof in regards to my woeful lack of blogging consistency. 

(She also requested my banana muffin recipe.)

This post is for you, mom.

Whole Wheat Banana Muffins

1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 ripe bananas
2 eggs
2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1/3 cup hot water
1/2 cup walnuts (optional)
Melt peanut butter in mixing bowl in microwave for 30 seconds.  Add bananas, mash.  Add eggs, sugar; mix.  Ad flour, salt, baking soda; mix.  Add hot water, mix.  Spoon into greased muffin tins.  Bake 20 minutes at 350 degrees F.  Makes 12 large muffins.

I’ve made these muffins multiple times, and we always love them.  Sometimes I add other fruit, too–this time I threw in two handfuls of fresh blackberries, which is why they look extra dark.  Also, sometimes I throw in a little wheat germ if I’m making a whole breakfast out of them (wheat germ adds protein). 

I usually have bananas on hand, but I also keep a supply of whole, peeled bananas in a gallon bag in the freezer for emergencies (I use bananas in all kinds of baking, including muffins, waffles, and pancakes).  They work just as well!

  1. #1 by mollie @ momconformist on July 12, 2011 - 9:24 pm

    Black bananas are best for muffins and bread! Once they go bad (beyond snack-worthy), I pop them in the freezer and pull them out when I need them! The riper the better (for cooking, that is). The frozen ones are great for smoothies too, and give just the right amount of icy-ness to the smoothie!

  2. #2 by Gretchen on July 13, 2011 - 1:45 pm

    I was slightly confused by the “we picked 3 gallons of blackberries” followed by banana muffins. Perhaps you have a tasty blackberry recipe I could drool over too?

  3. #3 by Gretchen B. on July 13, 2011 - 3:31 pm

    Peanut butter, too? They sound amaaaazing! I think even my meh-to-bananas husband would love them. Hmm.

  4. #4 by Betty on July 14, 2011 - 7:46 am

    Thanks Cristy for the blog and the recipe! I’ll try the muffins soon. Thanks for coming last weekend-we had a great time.

  5. #5 by Maria on July 14, 2011 - 12:06 pm

    Lekker! now I know what I’ll do with some of those forgotten bananas on top of the fridge, maybe even throw in some blueberries! See you tomorrow!

  6. #6 by joannamv on July 15, 2011 - 10:24 pm

    Good momma!!!

    Mmm banana muffins…I don’t think I could put the peanut butter in though, even though I’m guessing that’s the secret ingredient haha. But peanut butter is a precious resource to me!

Leave a Reply

