Way more boring details than you even want to know.

Here I am, guilty as charged.  Neglectful, neglectful me.  Oh, my.  Whatever is to be done.

Meanwhile, the days whiz by.

I finished teaching with a class period spent in rousing review, and my poor kids broke all sorts of records in exceeding my expectations.  They remembered!  Oh happy day.  I promised I’d bring food, and I did: seeds (popcorn) and roots (carrot sticks).  For such boring food, I must say it was scarfed up with great alacrity.  “Pass the roots, please.”  “KATHERINE, you ate all the seeds!!” 

I started something new: a tutoring/mother’s helper gig 2-3 half days a week for a family of 8 (6 kids).  So far, my major accomplishment has been in teaching the six year old to spell s-h-e-e-p. 

And the days whiz by.

I read Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park, which I found highly commendable until the end[ing], which was woefully anti-climatic.

We’ve been enjoying some new driving music (borrowed from a friend): Christ Only Always by the Galkin Evangelistic Team and the Wissmann Family.

In the garden, growth is all the rage.  No produce yet, but I did find a local strawberry farm to divest of 24 lbs of berries a week or so back.  Thanks to my strawberry freezing friends, I successfully preserved them and we’ve been enjoying fruit smoothies for breakfast several times a week. 

The days continue to whiz.

This past week brought a wonderful overflow of company–friends, family, plans, surprises.  It’s so nice to be connecting with people more now that Tim isn’t working quite as hard!  We took in a piano recital courtesy of one of the boys in Tim’s Sunday School; boy am I glad those days are over for me.  I’m so thankful MY teacher never made us memorize our pieces for performance!  We had a quick but nice visit from my brother and sister-in-law as they transition from the college stage of life to the career stage of life.  They moved about 10 hours closer to Richmond in the process, which means we may very well get to see them pretty often in the coming years.  Yippee!  Despite the brevity of their stay, we snuck in a trip to the beach (I forgot my camera, sad day) and had a truck load of fun showing them our favorite haunts.  Pop and I also enjoyed hosting my aunt and uncle from Texas for a quick lunch as they passed through town, and Tim’s brother and his wife spent a night on their way through to some beach somewhere.  Even quick trips are just so nice for catching up, and we really enjoyed having them all!

I got a new-to-me purse, my printer keeps running out of ink, I gave myself a haircut that I absolutely love, I hung a few more pictures, Pop just made another batch of chocolate chip cookies, Tim is working an all-nighter again, I enjoyed some moderate but quite thrilling success in building my first real website, I mowed half the lawn this evening (the other half will have to wait until tomorrow since I’m too much of a wimp to manage the whole thing in one sitting), we’re going on vacation in exactly one week, and the days whiz on.

So there you have the all the latest, breakingest news of our lives.  Or at least most of it. 

Hope it’s enough to tide you through until the next time!

  1. #1 by Tierney on May 19, 2011 - 11:35 pm

    Good to hear from you again! 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s too busy to blog much lately. What a good life. 🙂

    p.s. Your roots and seeds snack idea was brilliant.

  2. #2 by Evelyn on May 20, 2011 - 4:12 pm

    I love the Wissmann family music! The CD you linked to they made with Bright Lights, which is the girls discipleship program I grew up in (and led with some of the girls at Covenant OPC one year in college). That has been Rose’s favorite CD since the day she was born. What I’ve heard of the rest of the Wissmann’s music sounds really good too. I like the samples of the other CD you mentioned; I’ll have to check them out!

Leave a Reply

