Blooms, Brides, and Mr. Bombdiggity

I think I owe you a post.

In fact, I know I do. 

So here it is:

The Obligatory Spring Post.

Here are a few of my favorite signs of spring along with what’s been keeping us busy bees these days…with more to come on our huge weekend as soon as I can finish processing all the pictures.

1a. Our bulbs are blooming…

1b. …not to mention our apple trees! 

I love spring flowers.  I think they’re my favorite.

2. My garden digs are expanding!  Yay, trusty red pitchfork!

I love spring gardens.  I think they are my favorite.

3. Outage season is upon us.  For those of you unfamiliar with outage season, it’s to a power-generating engineer what tax season is to an accountant.  Tim’s life has temporarily become the property of Dominion Virginia Power.  He’s a real trooper, this husband of mine, and I’ve yet to hear a peep of complaint about the 13+ hour days he’s putting in six times a week.  (I am not a real trooper, however, and consequently can be found in a constant state of complanation for about the next six weeks or so.)

I’ll be honest.  This is not my favorite part of spring.  But I have managed to unearth two semi-positive things to say about the whole experience:

It sometimes (as in last week Wednesday) involves a last minute trip to the ever beautiful and always mountainous  Warm Springs Bed and Breakfast that we love all year around and might be our favorite…

…and Tim’s rental car for the aforementioned last minute trip to Warm Springs was a Mustang Convertible.  Which he has decided to keep for the duration of outage season, and in which he has twice graciously condescended to let me ride.

I love spring convertible rides.  They might be my favorite. 

4. (or is it really 6. ?)  We dusted off and fired up our pit for a cookout!  We had a very special reason for doing so, and I’ll post all the details soon.  (But keep reading for a huge clue.)

I love spring cookouts.  This is the first one I’ve ever actually hosted (I’d say ‘we’, except poor Tim was at work), and it was fantabulous.  In fact, it might even be my favorite.

5. Company comes!  Our house was bursting at the seams all weekend. 

It was nice.  I love company.  It’s a favorite.

6. It’s wedding season!  One of Tim’s cousins kicked it off for us on Saturday.

I love weddings.  I really think they might be my favorite.

7.  The sun shines.  Sunshine makes me happy.  That makes Tim happy.

Not gonna lie.  That right there’s my real favorite.

  1. #1 by Gretchen on March 29, 2011 - 4:53 pm

    Bombdiggity? 🙂 You never fail to amaze me. I know that is your life’s ambition.

  2. #2 by Diane on March 29, 2011 - 11:55 pm

    I think you are slightly bored so a cousin for Laura and Phil’s baby would be the perfect answer…LOL….Diane

  3. #3 by Laura on March 30, 2011 - 1:04 am

    Fun pictures, Cristola. I wish outage season would get over itself and end already.
    PS…you cut of 1.33 of Tim’s eyes. That’s not nice.

  4. #4 by Laura on March 30, 2011 - 1:04 am

    “off”

Leave a Reply

