My Purpose

After searching hard and long and far and near…I think I’ve finally found my goal and calling in life.

It’s a wonderful thing, after twenty-five years, to finally find one’s life’s goal and calling.

I gladly wish it upon all of you.

Of course, I don’t wish my own personal goal and calling upon all of you.  No, indeed.  In fact, I don’t even think it could work that way.  I’m pretty sure this new-found purpose of mine is something for which I alone am uniquely suited for.

That’s right.

It’s a me-myself-and-I thing.

Now, now, friends.  Don’t be angry with me.  Don’t covet my recent discovery and my newly enlightened state.  I’m not trying to make you jealous, or boast, or brag, or anything else.  I’m just saying, is all.

Really.

For what wonderful and delightful and fulfilling purpose, you may ask, have I been created?

Well, I have finally come to the conclusion that the reason for which I was born into this world is this:

To make my husband laugh.

It’s quite a job, let me tell you, but someone’s got to do it.

Thank you, Lord, that that someone is me.

True Confession: I can’t imagine anything more delightfully or satisfyingly challenging.

After all, the need is frequent and the possibilities varied and endless. Not to mention the rewards, which are rich and plentiful.

For example: I love to see the boss’s tired eyes light up and to watch the weight of his stressful workday lighten.  The kind and happy lines that his face softens into when he smiles are worth a thousand paychecks.  And boy do I love to hear this delighted accolade when my insatiable wit has confounded him once again: “Cristy, where did you come from?!”

I eat it up like water to a desert and diesel gas to a fire.  

Oh, our marriage isn’t all laughs.  We pout and moan and mope and growl and scratch and nip and scoff and complain and rail more than your average pair, I’d reckon.  Believe you me.  And then there are the times when my humor goes dreadfully, horribly, hurtfully, miscommunicationally all wrong.  Totally not funny.  And then there’s the brutal reality that just because I’ve found my purpose sure doesn’t mean I don’t call in sick as often as not. 

But even so, I love you, Tim–and I love to make you laugh.

  1. #1 by Laura on March 23, 2011 - 2:15 pm

    A very happy purpose, indeed!

Leave a Reply

