A Philosophy of Science in Poem

I’m told I tend to facts too little

As if I deny the truth,

As if I deny my calling

To science  (I don’t). 

But I cannot marry

Truth to fact

And make them one.

They are not lovers, though they love—

Truth is mother and Fact her child,

One child of many,

Brother to Love and Joy,

Faith and Hope: things I can sense

But not touch.  Things

That I feel with my heart, but

not my hands.

And I, their friend, would like

to know them all.

  1. #1 by joannamv on March 17, 2011 - 3:14 pm

    I like this!

Leave a Reply

