Ugh.

For all my life long dreams of being a teacher, I dread Monday mornings. 

I get a pit in my stomach sometime between 4 and 6 on Sunday evening.

My body refuses to get out of bed when the alarm goes off.

Tim has to make breakfast.

I play with my food, because I’m not really that hungry.

I use the bathroom about 8 times.

I whine and moan and complain and threaten to quit entirely.

I self-peptalk every five minutes.

And then just when I’m about ready to hop on a plane to Alaska and hide in an ice cave somewhere, my students show up, I get to teaching, and BOOM: instantly I’m fine.  I’m enjoying my job.  I’m loving my kids.  I’m excited by my material. 

I hope today will be no exception.

It sure hasn’t started out any differently than normal.

We’re dissecting a cow eye today, and the last time I participated in anything remotely similar, I fainted.

And I wasn’t even doing any of the cutting.

There’s just something about eyes.  They are incredibly cool…but they give me the willys.

Even if they do belong to cows.

I downloaded these step-by-step instructions so I look like I know what I’m doing.

Since I definitely don’t.

And today, of all days, I have my first set of prospective student/parent visitors.

I hope they like the smell of formaldehyde.

Ugh.

My stomach hurts.

I think I’m going to go work myself up into a real tizzy.

With fond wishes for 12:00pm,

The Mad Scientist

  1. #1 by Gretchen on March 7, 2011 - 11:21 am

    A 3rd grader stumbled past me this morning with one of the biggest scowls I’d ever seen. “Good morning,” I said cheerfully. “I HATE Mondays,” he snarled.

    See, you’re not the only one.

  2. #2 by joannamv on March 7, 2011 - 2:22 pm

    I had an English teacher in high school who had hated school her entire life. (Think she was about 50.) I think her own experience as a student was not a good one, but she continued to dread coming back to school after the holidays as an adult. She loved teaching, but hated school.

  3. #3 by Laura on March 8, 2011 - 5:01 pm

    How’d it go? I think if I was a prospective student i’d be completely wow’ed by such an experiment. I clicked on the link to see the dissection…and then thought better of it as I am sitting here eating my breakfast after sleeping today. It’s a delicious stack I shouldn’t ruin–multigrain waffle, PB, sliced strawberries and a little vanilla bean icecream to top it off. Figure that’s about the same thing as syrup?? 🙂 And don’t feel like I’m a traitor for eating vanilla–mint choc chip just wouldn’t go quite as well.

    • #4 by Cristy on March 11, 2011 - 8:20 am

      It was great. The kids were over-the-top wowed. I didn’t get a bit squeamish.

  4. #5 by Sally on March 13, 2011 - 10:08 pm

    What? I am so surprised to read this. I thought I was some anomaly–always thought I wanted to be a mom, but a lot of days (maybe everyday) look forward to bedtime more than Christmas; love my kids so much and want to do everything for them (the good stuff), but at the same time so often my nerves are shot and I’m breathing out a prayer every 3 minutes just to get through the day, and so then I wonder if maybe I would be happier and better off if I’d never had kids. But, of course that’s not true (at least I don’t think so). My conclusion is, it’s the big picture I like and love and live for. The nitty-gritty daily grind (and whining) gets old and can wear me out. I’m not sure how all this relates, but anyway, now you know what I’m thinking about sometimes. I hope you can get over your Monday morning “sickness”.

Leave a Reply

