The Latest

And now, an update:

I wore my fingers to the bone cleaning.  Not really.  But I’m quite impressed with myself, nonetheless.  Here’s what I did:

  • Got dressed
  • Organized and straightened the linen closet, including my cache of stockpiled health and beauty items
  • Put away the clutter on my bathroom sink, the clutter on my dressers, and the clutter scattered all over my bedroom floor (Clutter?  My middle name?  Why do you ask?!)
  • Made a magazine rack out of an old cheerio box (to help contain said bathroom reading material clutter) ((thanks, Gretchen, for the great idea!))
  • Put away my clean laundry
  • Scrubbed the master bathroom sink, shower, toilet, and floor
  • Scrubbed Pop’s bathroom sink, tub, toilet, and floor
  • Emptied bathroom trash x 2
  • Shook out all bathroom rugs
  • Dusted bedroom furniture
  • Made bed
  • Vacuumed dust bunnies from bedroom baseboard, under dressers, under bed, and generally every corner of the bedroom universe
  • Swept the bedroom floor, the hall, and the stairs
  • Scrubbed the said bedroom floor, hall, and stairs with Murphy’s Oil Soap (oh, the shine)
  • Windexed the bathroom mirrors
  • Cleaned kitchen table and all six kitchen chairs with said Oil Soap
  • Washed table centerpiece items (coasters, hot plates, salt and pepper shakers)
  • Removed and stored table leaf
  • Recycled 5 phone books
  • Called Tim for a 5 minute pick-me-up (nothing works better)
  • Played the piano (another quick relaxant)
  • Made a huge pot of chicken chili for supper tonight and to bring to an event this weekend
  • Planned my science lesson (on bones and muscles) for Monday
  • Burned a couple of candles to help minimize the clean smell

Pop added to the general cleaning flurry by doing his laundry and vacuuming his room.

How this house can contain all this cleaning energy, I don’t even know.

Here’s what I didn’t get done:

  • Take out the trash (I’m pretty sure Tim’ll do it for the exorbitant price of a good long kiss)
  • Cleaned/organized the bedroom closets and dressers (that’s the one thing upstairs that I didn’t all the way finish.  But at least it’s behind closed d(rawe)oors
  • Grading (maybe I can squeeze this in Monday morning?)
  • Make granola (no big deal, though.  We can always starve tomorrow.  Or eat oatmeal for the third morning in a row.  Or something.)
  • Make phone calls (if I owe you a call ((you know who you are)), I really, really, really WILL call you back soon.  I hope.)
  • Read the Bible (but we did read at breakfast ((something by Charles Spurgeon)) and I sang a few hymns as I played)
  • Much of anything downstairs other than the kitchen table (I still need to sweep, mop, vacuum, dust, sort, organize, and generally do everything I did to the upstairs downstairs)
  • Write any of the fifty bajillion blog posts bouncing around in my brain (sorry, blog.  Don’t hate me.  I promise to get to you eventually)

Hopefully my motivation will extend into next week, and I can actually have the whole house clean AT ONE TIME!!  That’s never happened before.  If I do, I promise to post a long-overdue house tour for all those who have never come to visit (please!  come visit!). 

It’s a great feeling to sit here with sore arms and sore feet and sore shoulders and a sore back…and a long list of things accomplished.  Probably because it’s such a rare achievement for me.  I better enjoy it while I can…because I’m sure things will be back to normal (read: messy) far too soon!

P.S. My hands stink.

  1. #1 by Miriam on February 10, 2011 - 6:00 pm

    If you were pregnant I’d say you’re doing some serious nesting. But since you’re not (that I know of), I will stand and applaud your accomplishments for today! Wow!! I wanna be like you when I grow up! You go, girl!! I did wonder if you have something planned for the near future, like gobs of company coming over, or a party or something to motivate you to clean so detailedly (Is that a word? I got a squiggly red line so it must not be. Maybe “thoroughly” would be the correct choice.).

  2. #2 by Anna C on February 10, 2011 - 6:10 pm

    Go Cristy!! I second Miriam’s comment- I want to be like you when I grow up!

  3. #3 by Cristy on February 10, 2011 - 6:18 pm

    That’s just because neither of you have ever met my dust bunnies. *shudder*

  4. #4 by Jennifer on February 10, 2011 - 9:08 pm

    Wow! Thats amazing! Want to come do my house sometime? 😉

  5. #5 by felicialauer on February 11, 2011 - 12:58 am

    Way to go!! I know how wonderful that feels. I am really hoping to do some whipping of my own around this house. I can sympathize about never having the whole house clean at once. It’s been quite awhile for me, and never since we moved into this new house in September. I’ll give you one tip though- don’t ever break your back. The subsequent surgeries, irreparable nerve damage, and therefore pain when doing housework really put a damper on cleaning. Just thought I’d remind you to add “don’t break back” to your to do list ;). Your writings about your wonderful work at homemaking on here have really inspired me to be a better wife. You’re doing great, keep it up!

  6. #6 by Evelyn on February 11, 2011 - 9:58 am

    Wow, Cristy! You’ve inspired me…

  7. #7 by Diane Dykstra on February 12, 2011 - 9:22 pm

    Well we are actually trading houses with Klayton and his wife over the memorial day week-end. They are bursting at the seams with 3 children under 5 and 2 dogs. So we will go to their 1000 square foot house and they will take over our 1600 foot one with a double garage, people say wow that is just so generous of you and we just say when God is nudging you to do something you follow his plan and something wonderful will come of it. My advantage is 600 less feet to clean and one less bath tub to clean I’m actually happy about that!!! Their master does have an extra toilet and sink the most important thing I think!! 🙂 ….Love to read your blogs….Diane

  8. #8 by Sally on February 12, 2011 - 11:51 pm

    Know what my doctor told me when I mentioned I was doing serious cleaning before Marie was born? “Take pictures, because it won’t stay that way.” I did take pictures, and he was right–much sooner than I’d like to admit. Ahh…but it feels so good at the time! Enjoy your clean house!

Leave a Reply

