A Thrift Store By Any Other Name Wouldn’t Smell As Sweet

Naming is tough business.  It’s so…permanent.  It’s so…defining.  It’s so…scary.

But I am a name generating machine.

I love naming things.  I love thinking of clever wordplays (like DoubleKnotted–see my little paragraph bio on the righthand side of the screen).  Such things sort of just spew out of my head like lava from a volcano.  Which is why naming this ol’ thrift store of mine had me so flummoxed–I had to wait…and wait….and wait for inspiration to strike.

I thought it never would.

I thought my whole idea was on its way down the drain for lack of a Good Name.  A Good Name is hard to find, after all, and a thrift store without one is doomed to failure from the start.

Then one midnight about a month into planning, Tim was jolted awake by my triumphant cry. 

“What about ___________?!” I was blabbering excitedly.  “What do you think?  Do you like it?  Is it good?  Will you help me remember it until morning?”

Poor Tim.  He puts up with so much from me and loves me anyway (which, by the way, is the secret to our long year of marriage, in case anyone was curious).

We still liked our New Name even after about 7 hours of sleep, so we figured it was a keeper…but if I thought my troubles were over as soon as I picked The Name, I was wrong. 

I got up the next morning, danced a jig, and sat down at the computer–where to my horror I met my next foe:

The Logo.

AAAAAAAAAGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

These things are ten times worse than the monsters under our bed (which in my case, look remarkably like dust bunnies).

Twelve million billion drafts later (which, by the way, is as high as I can count)…we had a winner.

Ladies and gentlemen, may I present to you:

  1. #1 by Laura on January 18, 2011 - 10:28 am

    I love it, Cristy! Sweet name, great slogan, perfect colors, well-laid out and easy to read. I hate trying to read cluttered, busy graphics, so I like the fact that you don’t have crazy back-ground colors/designs. Clean is the impression you want people to enter your store with.

  2. #2 by Rachel on January 18, 2011 - 10:35 am

    I love it too! I totally agree with Laura – it looks so professional and clean!! I like the colors too and how everything fits so nicely and the hand is a nice touch 🙂

  3. #3 by Brittany on January 18, 2011 - 11:07 am

    I love the logo, especially the colors! And I love the name! And I’m excited to shop at your thrift store!

  4. #4 by thegreenhillfam on January 18, 2011 - 1:03 pm

    Perfect. It’s perfect! This all just makes me smile!

  5. #5 by Grace on January 18, 2011 - 3:55 pm

    supercool!!

  6. #6 by Jennifer on January 18, 2011 - 5:16 pm

    Love it! Way to go!

  7. #7 by joannamv on January 18, 2011 - 8:29 pm

    Cooool! Well done!

  8. #8 by Tierney on January 22, 2011 - 10:58 pm

    Ditto to what everyone said up there – I love your online thrift store idea, I love the cause you’re supporting, and your name and logo are super-cool! Is there anything I can do to help out from a distance? Probably not, but tell me if there is. 🙂 If nothing else, I’ll shop here when you get it up and running! Exciting!

Leave a Reply

