Children’s Clothes

 14

Well, time is marching on and so are my thrift store plans!  This week, I started amassing inventory.  This might be slightly peremptory, seeing as I have yet to even begin to file for nonprofit status or program my website–but hey, I did finally come up with a name and a logo (both of which I’ll share the very minute I purchase my domain, which will hopefully be tomorrow), which I figured was cause enough for celebration.
16
So celebrate I did: I called up Tim’s cousin and told her to meet me at Salvation Army ASAP for a spending spree. 
24
We walked in, and a clerk says to us, “Hi!  The entire store is 50% off today.”  Oh, sweet music, music to my ears. 
29
50% off?!  Our jaws drop. We think our ears are deceiving us.  But they’re not.  So we get busy.
37
103 items of clothing and 3 hours later…we have to leave because I have two hungry men waiting at home and no dinner plans.

Above are just a few of our great finds for children.  To see more, click here and you’ll be redirected to my online photo album, where I have all my current stock of children’s clothing listed (I’ll be working on adding to my Maternity and Dress albums early next week with sizing, pricing, and new products, plus I’ll be starting a Scrub and Shirt album soon–so keep checking out my whole page!).  If you peruse my selection, you’ll notice that each photo is labeled with a number, which just so happens to be its item number, which just so happens to help me keep track of which size 4 girls dress is which.  You’ll find product information and a price in the photo’s description if that photo’s name is a whole number (the .2s and .3s don’t have any description info).  If you see something you want, contact me with the item #.  We aren’t up and running yet, so I can’t promise great (read: prompt) customer service…but since you are friends and family and blog readers whom I love, I’m offering you first dibs on anything you see.  Plus, it helps me work through any kinks.  I’ll just keep a running account like the old days, ship you your stuff, and we can settle up as soon as Tim helps me get an operative website complete with online payment options up and running.  Initially, most of the profit will be reinvested in new inventory, so your money probably won’t go straight to Show Hope (the adoption fund we hope to contribute too…more on them in a few weeks)–but in the long run, you will be making the whole idea possible, so in that sense you would majorly be supporting a great cause.  In fact, you could consider yourself a founder of this little online thrift store…and if you’re really lucky you might get nominated to board of directors (since I learned yesterday that I have to have one of those to form a nonprofit corporation). 

Oh, and please continue to leave me any thoughts/comments/feedback–I’ve appreciated your help SO MUCH! 
39

  1. #1 by Miriam on January 14, 2011 - 2:17 pm

    Ok, these pictures are uh-mazing!! Great colors, great lighting, the whole nine yards! I just made a haul of clothes for Susannah (from a friend), but I’m going to for sure keep you in mind if I need clothes for her or as gifts for any of my nieces or nephews.

    • #2 by Cristy on January 14, 2011 - 2:33 pm

      Well you helped me with the white background idea!! I didn’t have posterboard, but I did have the backside of a quilt…and it did work quite well!! 🙂

  2. #3 by Sheryl on January 14, 2011 - 3:19 pm

    Christy,
    Show Hope!
    Cool!
    #40 does not have a price listed… We are very interested.
    I really like your pictures, your details.. Thanks for spending the looking time for me… I do not dare go into a thrift store too often with all 6 children… my head starts spinning…
    this is doable… 🙂

  3. #4 by Jennifer on January 15, 2011 - 8:37 am

    These are so cute! They make me wish I had a couple little ones to put them on! Great job on all of this! Keep it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

