The Very Good Day

or: Happy For All The Wrong Reasons

Yesterday was a particularly encouraging day.

I got rave reviews on my teaching.

I got rave reviews on my blog.

I got rave reviews on my mac’n’cheese dinner.

I got rave reviews on my thrift store brainchild.

I made my first sale.

I acquired 100+ pieces of incredible inventory for less than $1.60/ea (quite a few still had brand new tags!).

I saved hundreds of dollars (on clothes and groceries).

It was nice.

No more mid-winter blues for this girl!

I was very, very happy all day long.

You know, I could totally stand to have days like that more often. 

…but it’s a good thing I don’t.

Let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.  –God

Pray for me, as I’ll be praying for you: may we all continue to learn to seek and delight in praise from God, not men!

  1. #1 by Anna C on January 13, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    I’m not sure…I understand what you’re saying, but I still think it’s good for us to have days like this. We shouldn’t depend on the praise of others, but being encouraged and praised for a job well done isn’t a bad thing at all. You can take pride in your work, knowing that you’re doing well, and praying that you’re doing it for the right reasons. We’re working for God, not men, so we shouldn’t be discouraged when we aren’t praised, but when we are praised can’t we take confidence and attribute that to Him? So I wouldn’t say you were necessarily happy for all the wrong reasons:) Just my two cents, of course. I’m glad you had a good day!

  2. #2 by joannamv on January 14, 2011 - 12:52 am

    I want to buy stuff from your thrift store! Any darker coloured nursing tops you have I want the option of buying!

    Are you accepting inventory donations yet? Have you decided on what specific items you are going to sell? (Aka are you the repository for all of my junk or just some, hahaha.)

    Our continuous prayer is that men will see our good works as works of God and give glory to Him. And also that we will hear the praise of men as pure testimony to the grace and glory of God and nothing of ourselves. It’s a journey, as God refines us. A good day is still a good day, and we can be thankful that today we recognise our weakness of susceptibility to the praise of men.

    Oh, and is anyone betting on what percentage of the money you raise from your thrift store will be your own money from buying stuff from your own thrift store? :B You think it’s great being the sorter lady who gets first pick at the merchandise, but it’s also an expensive habit! (OK, I guess it’s actually a value habit if it’s stuff you need, but still. Couldn’t resist haha.)

Leave a Reply

