Oh Happy Day

Edit 064

Today I discovered (or at least, I think I did) that my thrift store will qualify for non-profit shipping rates!!  As far as I can tell, this involves some extra work but is well worth the discounts…as in ship a shirt for a total whopping 20 cents type discounts.  I still have much more to learn about this, and I’m sure along the way I’ll discover why it’s too good to be true…but for now, I’m a happy camper!  This makes my goal of $.50/item shipping so much more feasible, since it looks like I can easily purchase polymailer envelopes for $.12/ea–or less!  Since shipping prices seem to be a big concern, how cool would it be if that cost was pretty much negligible?!  God is good!

In other news, I’m getting tons of positive feedback about the idea of maternity tops/dresses–apparently, that’s sort of an under-staffed niche on the market…especially when it comes to affordable pricing!  So that’s exciting…especially since I love shopping for maternity clothes.  They’re so cute! 

Another area I’m considering is used-but-in-great-shape scrubs (tops and/or pants).  What do you all think…would those of you who use scrubs buy them sight unseen online (with a good picture, of course)?  That’s another item that can be hard to find period, much less under $10/piece…and I would be looking at pricing them in the $4-$5 range.

Books, DVDs, CDs, jewelry, skirts, dresses…no pants….anything else you’d like to see (or not!) cheap online?

In really other news, I’ve got a pressure cooker full of ham stew simmering away on the stove (it was the only thing I owned in which my 17.5 lb hambone fit), a cheesecake in the fridge…and a kitchen full of family coming in to celebrate an aunt’s birthday tonight.  PLUS my husband comes home from a week long business trip!  What a great Friday…

Have a good weekend!

  1. #1 by Miriam on January 7, 2011 - 4:09 pm

    I have always wondered how we always get junk mail with stuff like $.10 postage. Yay for your discovery! I hope everything continues to go well for you!

    • #2 by Cristy on January 7, 2011 - 4:32 pm

      Me, too!! Thanks for your help today…!

  2. #3 by Anna C on January 7, 2011 - 6:36 pm

    I would definitely buy scrubs for those prices. I have bought sight unseen online in the past, and paid about $7 per piece plus shipping. The sizing in this case was hit or miss- one color is perfectly sized, the other is smaller, but they should be identical other than color. A little less for something gently used (and maybe more information and measurements) would be great!

Leave a Reply

