Resolved

1. To spend more time reading the Bible and praying.

2. To love my husband more and myself less.

3. To connect more.  Sometimes I feel so isolated.

4. To run. 

5. To count it all joy.

6. To communicate: by letter, by phone, over coffee, in the car, at church, at home.

7. To waste less time.

8. To love God will all my heart, soul, mind, and strength (…shouldn’t this be at the top of my list?).

9. To make a difference.

10. To be content.

11. To love truth.

12. To give praise.

—–

Some people start the year over every fall, with the school year.  But since the dawn of both a new birth year AND the calendar year occurs within one week here at the end of December–this has always been a season of reflection for me.  Sometimes my thoughts take a very structured form: in 5th grade, I resolved to cook 1 meal a week, limit myself to 2 squabbles per day with my siblings, and read the Bible every day for 30 minutes.  Sometimes, though, my ambitions remain rather vague: a list from early highschool merely states Change the World. 

Whatever the final form, I find this time of reflection so helpful.  Today I am thinking of a year’s worth of growth in grace and of areas I’ve failed to follow Christ.  How few times I died to myself in the last twelve months!  Especially in our marriage.  How deeply thankful I am for Tim, his love, and our home.  I quake to think where I would be without him.  I have regrets.  I think of things I’ve said and done–or maybe mostly not said or not done–that have hurt and torn down those I love.  I think of new friendships formed and old ones lost.  I think of the hope and promise–and uncertainty and no doubt pain–of the days ahead.  All of this in my head, spinning around and around, tugging my heart into a bittersweet dance. 

I am thankful that God is constant.  That He is the Author of time.  That He knows the end from the beginning and He rules over both.

May He bless and lead us all in 2011. 

May we trust and rejoice in Him!

——

Do you take time for any sort of reflections or resolutions around the New Year?

,

  1. #1 by Anna C on January 1, 2011 - 6:30 pm

    Thank you for this, Cristy. I especially like the hope you talk about. It’s easy for me to look at where I am, and where I should be, and wonder if it will ever change. But I know it can, by God’s grace. So maybe my resolution is to lean more fully on His grace…which of course I can only do by His grace…:)

    • #2 by Cristy on January 3, 2011 - 9:12 pm

      I know exactly how you feel. Sigh. Some day we’ll arrive!

  2. #3 by joannamv on January 2, 2011 - 12:11 am

    And nooooow…write specific measurable achievable relevant time-based targets for each resolution :B

    Total flashback to elementary school haha.

    I guess I kind of agree with all of your list, except for running because I’m lazy :B

  3. #4 by Betty on January 3, 2011 - 2:43 pm

    I love this post! I remember the cooking resolution and was happy about that one. I do NOT remember the 2 squabbles a day one. Were you successful? 🙂

    • #5 by Cristy on January 3, 2011 - 4:47 pm

      haha…no, I don’t think I successfully reduced the number of squabbles amongst the three of us until I left for college…:-b

  4. #6 by Tim C on January 3, 2011 - 8:57 pm

    you changed my world.

  5. #7 by Tierney on January 22, 2011 - 10:45 pm

    Well, I’m catching up after a long absence from Iowa, and an even longer absence from blog-world, so forgive my tardiness in commenting – but I had to make note of the fact that your New Years resolution list pretty much exactly matches mine, except that I would switch out “husband” for “family” in #2, since I have none of the former as of today. Numbers 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 touch on particularly desperate needs in my life right now (with number 8, as you pointed out, the most important of all). Thanks for posting these!

Leave a Reply

