My Week in Dinners: December 13-17

Just in case you were dying to know…

Monday: Easy Beef Stroganouf (with asparagus in cream sauce and bread)
1 lb hamburger, seasoned and cooked (I do mine ahead and freeze)
1 can tomato sauce
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 cup plain yogurt or sour cream
1-2 Tbls Worcestershire sauce
handful of sliced mushrooms
seasonings (salt, pepper, garlic) to taste
Mix, simmer, serve over egg noodles.

Tuesday: Chicken Artichoke Casserole (with green beans and bread)
1 cup diced, cooked chicken
1 can artichoke hearts
1 cup cooked rice
1 can cream of chicken soup
1/4 cup cheddar cheese
Layer in 9×9 pan in order listed, bake or microwave until cheese melts and center is hot.

Wednesday: Leftover Chicken Artichoke Casserole
(see above recipe)

Thursday: Italian Wedding Soup (with whole wheat biscuits)
4 cups chicken broth
1 package (10 0z) spinach
1/2 lb meatballs
1 diced carrot
1 diced celery
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1 cup orzo
seasoned salt, basil, oregano, rosemary, garlic to taste
Simmer all 15-30 minutes, top with parmesan cheese.

Friday: Frozen Pizza (with Mushrooms), baby carrots, and clementines
Tim fixed it while I vegged out on the couch–which made it taste extra good!! 

Since it was a cold week, we mostly had leftover pork soup and fruit for lunch and lots of Christmas cookies for dessert.

So there you have it!

  1. #1 by joannamv on December 20, 2010 - 6:36 am

    So I guess you like mushrooms.

    • #2 by Cristy on December 20, 2010 - 8:04 am

      Well, yes–that, and if I buy 8 oz of the fresh stuff, then all of a sudden I have to use them before they spoil. Which is a little hard to do with just the three of us. Do you ever run into that problem with produce?

      • #3 by Anna C on December 20, 2010 - 9:27 am

        Haha, oh Cristy. When I see mushrooms on sale I have been known to by 1 1/2 to 2 pounds of them, and I always manage to use them within a week. That’s just two of us too;) But then I love mushrooms and could put 4 oz of them in an omelot for me.

      • #4 by joannamv on December 21, 2010 - 8:45 am

        That’s why I don’t buy lettuce. Everything else seems to work out okay. But then most things you can use in a lot of different ways. I don’t like mushrooms so I guess they stood out to me!

  2. #5 by Betty on December 20, 2010 - 9:59 am

    Sounds good-I’ll have to try some of them. I am feeling like we eat the same things over and over and I am ready for some new tastes.

  3. #6 by Laura on December 21, 2010 - 5:09 am

    The artichoke recipe sounds yummy…when I was a kid I thought artichokes were the fish wierdos put on their pizza.

Leave a Reply

