My week with the dying leaves

Ever since I started teaching, I’ve had one major fear: I won’t be able to travel with Tim when he leaves for an out-of-town work week.

Well, so far, my fear has been 50% founded and 50% unfounded.

Last month, Tim abandoned me for a whole week while he tootled off to Atlanta.

But this past week, when he marched on down to southern VA, he took me with him!

Now usually, Tim’s company gets him a nice hotel room conveniently located near the particular power station in question.  This, time, that convenient hotel room was actually about half an hour out–and to our delight, we discovered that so was a state park that rented whole cabins for less than the price of a room at the Fairfield Inn!

Not only were the cabins reasonably priced, but they were gorgeous.  Small, quaint, clean, cozy, woodsy…on top of a beautiful view of the lake right from the back porch!

We watched the sunrise every morning.

And every morning, I was reminded of God’s faithfulness.  His mercies are new with each and every sunrise.

 

Mercy (especially God’s) is an amazing thing, and one that I experienced in generous measure this week.  I had so much time to myself there at that little cabin–no internet, no cell phone, no husband.  Just a Bible, a fading forest, and one great big God with all His persistent faithfulness.

Blessed are the merciful, Jesus says, for they shall obtain mercy.  And elsewhere, He teaches those who have obtained such blessed mercy to be likewise merciful.

That’s the real circle of life, don’t you think?

  1. #1 by JenniferS on November 21, 2010 - 4:27 pm

    Sounds amazing! And right up your alley! 🙂

Leave a Reply

