Major Work(s) In Progress

…in our front room: furniture is out, sufficient gallons of paint are purchased, brush work is done–next up, rollers!  Furniture scheduled for delivery on Friday morning!!

…in Tim’s office: he has been one busy guy lately with no end in sight.  Thankful we are for God’s provision, but also praying that this extra-crunchy crunch is just a season.

…at the library: I stopped to check out some new books, but it was closed for the day for inventory purposes. 

…on tonight’s supper: spaghetti (my favorite) with hamburger and shrimp sauce (new twist) along with some fresh parmesan and goat cheese (love last-day markdowns), fruit, and tossed salad (except I forgot to buy lettuce.  Oops.)!!

…on my sinkful of dirty dishes: okay, so this is less of a work-in-progress and more of a work-that-desperately-needs-to-be-started.

…re: Christmas presents!  I’ve got ideas coming out my ears…for people with whom I don’t exchange gifts.  Rats.

…in my heart: much slower going than the front room, plagued by many ups and more downs, always making a stumbling block out of something, steps forward seem to occur only when falling.

  1. #1 by Tierney on November 10, 2010 - 8:34 pm

    …steps forward seem to occur only when falling.

    Oh, I know the feeling, girl. So well. But if you look a little farther back – a year? five years? ten? – I bet almost anything you’ll see that God has used these day-by-days of little to no apparent progress, to bring you farther than you realize, or maybe even remember. I know that’s the case with me, anyhow: when I restrict my gaze to too small a portion of the recent past, the only thing I tend to get out of it is major discouragement. (Incidentally, one of the recurring errors that triggers said discouragement, is my tendency to restrict my gaze to too small a portion of the recent past…eep.)

    Anyway, the point is … chin up. God’s up to something amazing in your life – no doubt there. 🙂

    • #2 by Cristy on November 12, 2010 - 12:16 pm

      Thanks, Tierney! I know I’m not the only one, but sometimes it sure seems that I’m that much farther behind in my spiritual progress than anyone else…

      • #3 by joannamv on November 12, 2010 - 5:34 pm

        Seems like a good sign, if you see Christ in others and see the faults in yourself 🙂

  2. #4 by joannamv on November 11, 2010 - 1:33 am

    What’s with the tractor?

    • #5 by Cristy on November 12, 2010 - 12:15 pm

      hahaha…you know, to signify a WORK in progress. Doesn’t it look like that girl’s working? (well, she’s not. She posing on my Dad’s tractor in Colorado. What a loser. ((well, okay, I’m the loser because I set her up to it)) :-b)

      • #6 by joannamv on November 12, 2010 - 5:36 pm

        Haha, ok. Josh’s father just bought a tractor (keeping it at our place) and it doesn’t make me think of work: Josh just mowed the grass for FUN.

        • #7 by Cristy on November 12, 2010 - 6:48 pm

          He can come mow our lawn anytime. ANY. TIME. Did I mention anytime?

Leave a Reply

