Snow White, you were a beauuuutiful prenncissssss.

I played a tape for Tim about 2 months into our marriage.  It dates back to 1988, and it was part of my plan to make sure he stuck around for the long haul.  I figured if he knew how cute I sounded as a toddler, he’d definitely want to be there with me for some kids of our own.

So far, it’s working. 

*Phew.*

Anyway, on said tape, I am ‘reading’ (no, not actually, more like reciting) Snow White and the Seven Dwarves to the fam.

I should tell you that I had the cutest way with words.  Ever.  And my accent?  And dramatics?  Wow.  HOW am I not on Broadway right now?!?!  I don’t even know.

(Anyone know how to convert a cassette tape to a computer file?)

I should also tell you that the whole point of this post is to prove the following: I love children’s books.

Always have.

Always will.

Someday, I may even write some of my own.

However, unfortunately, I’m a little out of the loop when it comes to the good ones these days.   (What can I say?  I’m not a kid; I don’t have kids; I don’t know any kids ((okay, that’s not true.  I did spend a whole afternoon reading Little Mermaid (((over…and over…and over))) to a very animated audience of one this week–apparently Disney Princesses have some sort of thing for me)).)

Help!

What were your favorites when you were a wee bambino(a)?

What do you read to your kids/grandkids?

Many thanks!!!!!

  1. #1 by Cristy on October 21, 2010 - 11:02 am

    I remember loving The Little Bitty Woman, James Herriot’s illustrated stories for children, Richard Scarry’s books, something produced by Focus on the Family that included lessons from Proverbs learned by a wildcat in a bayou (?!), Dr. Seuss (of course)…

  2. #2 by Angela Starosta on October 21, 2010 - 11:24 am

    Heckedy Peg – Audrey Wood
    The Stinky Cheeseman and Other Fairly Stupid Tales – Jon Scieszka
    The “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” Series – Laura Numeroff
    Dogzilla – Dav Pilkey

    • #3 by Cristy on October 21, 2010 - 11:30 am

      Thanks, this is great! I don’t think I’ve read any of ’em–off to the library I go!

  3. #4 by Jana Askins on October 21, 2010 - 11:38 am

    check this site out:

    https://store.rabbitroom.com/books

    • #5 by Cristy on October 21, 2010 - 11:40 am

      cool! Thanks so much!!

  4. #6 by Leah on October 21, 2010 - 12:18 pm

    Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No-Good, Very Bad Day. Anything by Robert McCloskey. Amelia Bedelia. Guess How Much I Love You (swoon). Love You Forever (cry). The Kissing Hand. Corduroy books. Curious George books. The Little House (love). Madeline books. The Rainbow Fish.

    I love kids’ books too! Look for compilation books. The families I babysit for used to have two of these really need books that each had like 30 children’s books rolled into one. It was good for bedtime reading, even though some of the pictures were truncated – it’s a good way to introduce yourself to a lot of new books!!!

    • #7 by Cristy on October 21, 2010 - 12:53 pm

      I remember reading Corduroy! Thanks for all these suggestions…I’ve got them down for my next trip to the library… 🙂

  5. #8 by Anna C on October 21, 2010 - 3:23 pm

    A Hole is To Dig. The Billy and Blaze books. Roxaboxen (sp?). The Ox-Cart Man. Paddle to the Sea and other by that author Actually those books are a bit older, and may be good for your class- lots of detail and very educational. I think Minn of the Mississippi was about a hermit crab.
    There were so many others (many that I remember because of younger sibs) but I can’t think of them right now….
    Oh, and back to the j books you were discussing recently: did you ever read Hitty, Her First Hundred Years?

    • #9 by Cristy on October 21, 2010 - 3:56 pm

      I vaguely remember reading Billy and Blaze. Hmmm…some of the other ones sound really interesting, too. I’ll be going armed (with a list) to the library soon. Thanks! And no, I don’t think I did read the 100 years book, but I must have heard the title somewhere? It sounds vaguely familiar.

  6. #10 by Grace on October 21, 2010 - 6:37 pm

    passionatehomemaking.com has a great blog entry on this very subject right now! 🙂

  7. #11 by Laura on October 24, 2010 - 10:06 pm

    Phil’s favorite book growing up was Mike Mulligan and the Steam Shovel. He read it to me and Maria’s little sister a year or so ago in VT. Do you remember the Serendipity books? I loved the Muffin Muncher dearly.

  8. #12 by Lynn Vogan on November 1, 2010 - 8:51 pm

    Hi, Cristy,
    These are a few of my kids’ favorites, the ones they ask for over and over.
    Jesse Bear, What Will You Wear (Nancy White Carlstrom)
    Ferdinand (Munro Leaf)
    The Very Hungry Caterpillar (Eric Carle)
    The Mixed-Up Chameleon (Eric Carle)
    Chester
    The Story about Ping (Marjorie Flack)
    Angus and the Ducks ( also MF)
    Angus and the Cat (MF)
    Fox in Socks (Dr. Suess)

    Have fun reading! 🙂
    Lynn

    • #13 by Cristy on November 1, 2010 - 9:07 pm

      Thanks, Lynn! I especially love feedback from families in the ‘young-kid’ stage, because I know you know what they like! Hope you all are doing well…

Leave a Reply

