Day’s End

Tuesdays are nice.

In a bold move to actually put some punch behind our never-ending resolutions, we set the alarm an extra half an hour early this morning and walked 2 miles.  The hope is that this will help us a) fall asleep at least a half an hour earlier tonight and/or b) not wake up (until morning) once we do.

I completed my weekly grocery store run without mishap, and managed to find my way home with a bunch of good stuff: apples, grapes, bananas, sweet potatoes, hamburger, boneless skinless chicken ($1.49/lb…yay!), apple cider (I love fall), milk…

Instead of stashing the meat in the fridge and dealing with it later, I immediately turned the hamburger into 3 meatloaves and divided the chicken into meal-size portions.  Then it all went into the freezer.  Good for me.

Then I had to eat lunch.  Groooosssss.  Who wants to eat a sandwich with raw-meat-memories fresh in the nose?  So I made myself some EasyMac and ate dark chocolate Hershey kisses for my side.  Don’t tell Tim.

This afternoon was a flurry of baking for the rest of the week: asparagus quiche and apple pie for supper tonight, baked oatmeal for breakfasts, cookies for T’s lunches.  It’s all in the oven as we speak, and it’s making the house smell goooood.  Plus, I only had to use one mixing bowl.  Anything for fewer dishes.

For the first time EVER, I won a give away this week!!  Also for the first time EVER, I received free promotional address labels in the mail today in my name!!!  (They’re pink, so I guess it’s a good thing they’re not in Tim’s, huh?  🙂 )

I’ve been really enjoying reading a wide variety of Juvenile Fiction lately.  If you haven’t already, read the comments on this post for some great young adult book ideas!!  (…and watch for an opportunity soon to share your favorite of all time children’s books…)

Oooh, got to go, just heard Tim’s door slam! 

C

  1. #1 by joannamv on October 13, 2010 - 7:17 am

    C’mon, you know we want to know what you won!

    I got my first address labels a couple of weeks ago, very exciting. (Even if it shows that I am now on the mailing list for junk-senders.) They were American patriotic ones haha. And also wintery peaceful ones. Josh has some pumpkin/Fall ones, guess we should start using them. Josh got lots of kids ones too. What does it say that I get mad at the Children’s Leukaemia charity for wasting money on labels but don’t care when the Veterans’ lose out?

    • #2 by Cristy on October 13, 2010 - 9:49 am

      I won a bottle of lavendar oil. I’m planning to blog about it as soon as I get it, decide how to use it (right now I’m thinking homemade deodorant for me, but it’s also supposed to be a scent that helps you relax/sleep which would be great right before bed), and see if it works.

      • #3 by joannamv on October 15, 2010 - 12:30 pm

        I think I dreamt that I read about another woman who got some promotional lavender oil :-/ Pretty sure it’s a dream because now I think about it I can’t recall where I could’ve read such a thing. Those types of dreams are really weird! You never remember them, then you have a memory that you realise can’t have been from real life. Odd. Haha.

  2. #4 by Rachel on October 13, 2010 - 4:23 pm

    I’m impressed that you can wake up 30 min earlier!! Matt & I always have such trouble waking up in the morning and always press snooze..And I’m impressed that you actually wake up with Tim!!!

Leave a Reply

