Confessions of a Delinquent Housewife

I don’t….

….have any confessions for you today!!

About two weeks ago I realized that I really needed to get serious about this whole ‘keeping house’ business, and since then I’ve been whittling away at it one small step at a time.  I still have a long ways to go before I have my house under control, but right at this very minute it is picked up almost entirely, the bedroom is swept and dusted within the last week, the kitchen floor is 3/4ths hands-and-knees scrubbed, the dishes are all done, the sink is clean, the microwave is almost clean, the carpets have been vacuumed in recent memory, and the bathroom is pretty shiny.  Plus the cool weather has been just the cooking inspiration I’ve needed, and I’m back to baking up a storm.  LOVE using my oven when the thermometer reads in the 60s!

We’ll see how long I can keep it up!  🙂

  1. #1 by Tierney on October 7, 2010 - 4:00 pm

    You go, girl!

  2. #2 by Miriam on October 7, 2010 - 4:53 pm

    So, I have no clue about your growing up or background, but about a year after we got married I realized I had absolutely no idea how to “keep house.” Oh, I knew what to do (laundry, cooking, cleaning, right??), but I just couldn’t find a good “groove”. I went shopping one day specifically for a book, something to help me learn how to keep house! And I found the.best.book.ever. It’s “More Hours In My Day” by Emilie Barnes. She has in there how to do everything from grocery shopping to scrubbing the toilet to making sure your hubs feels loved to paying the bills to… yeah, she covers everything. Anyway, it was a great help and I still read through it about once a year to glean new inspiration and to re-charge.

    So, anyway, happy housekeeping! 🙂

    • #3 by Cristy on October 13, 2010 - 9:49 am

      Thanks for this resource, Miriam! I’ll have to look for it…I do think some sort of book would be helpful for me!!

Leave a Reply

