Does this kind of stuff ever happen to anybody else?

I taught yesterday morning.

Climbed in the car and almost gagged.

I asked Tim when he got home if he’d noticed the smell last week.

He said yes.

Is this sounding familiar?

Well, this time we didn’t forget our trash in our trunk.  I promise.  I checked.

The trunk was empty.

So today I drove to the grocery store, did my shopping, and left with a cart full of paper bags (I hardly ever get paper).  Loaded them in the trunk, drove home, grabbed a couple bags by their handles.

Pulled up, and whoosh.  Out came all the groceries.

The bottoms of the bags were soaked through.

The trunk was sopping wet.

What?!?!

I wrestled up the drenched carpet, lifted the plywood tire cover, and found 4 inches of standing water.

Gross standing water.

Water that has leaked from the trunk into the floor of the back seat.

I am still not sure where all this water came from (or, for that matter, how to get rid of it).  The torrential downpour about a week ago?  Still…how did it get inside my trunk?!?!

Sigh.

If this happens every time it rains…

…I need to keep a cleaner car.  Shampoo the upholstery more often (or at all).  Hang a deodorizer.  Stuff like that.

Good thing it’s still nice enough to roll the windows down.

Good thing I managed to get all my groceries inside without major mishap.

Good thing I don’t carpool or anything.

  1. #1 by Miriam on October 5, 2010 - 7:25 pm

    You poor soul!! You and the interior of your trunk just aren’t getting along so well, are you?? That is very strange about water getting in there. I hope this is the end of car/trunk/stink happenings! (and if you hadn’t gotten paper bags… you might not have noticed)

    • #2 by Cristy on October 6, 2010 - 1:31 pm

      Thanks for the reminder to count my blessings (about paper bags)!

  2. #3 by Anna C on October 5, 2010 - 9:59 pm

    Yikes, that actually happened to Risa and Tom with their Taurus (wait, yours is a Taurus, isn’t it?). I’m not sure where exactly, but it was definitely leaking every time it rained. I could ask what they tried to fix it, but I don’t think anything was that effective and they eventually ended up trading the car b/c of other problems.

  3. #4 by Tierney on October 6, 2010 - 12:54 pm

    I had something kind of similar for awhile this summer, except it was the floor in the front of my car that was inexplicably soaked. It turned out to be caused by condensation from the AC, I guess, but it’s fixed now. Probably not the same thing, though, since yours is in the trunk.
    Last summer a gallon of milk got spilled in the back of my car, so I do understand about the stench problem. Yech. :-/
    Hope you get something figured out soon!

Leave a Reply

