I Never Knew

I never knew columbines were beautiful until I lived where they don’t.

I never knew how convenient my dishwasher was until it broke.

I never knew that washing a dishwasher full of dishes by hand could be so relaxing until I did it.

I never knew I could love anyone as much as I love Tim until he did.

I never knew I could derive so much pleasure just from making him happy until I heard him laugh.

I never knew I liked lima beans until I moved South.

I never knew the Washington Monument until I saw it.

I never knew I liked poetry until I once came close to understanding it.

I never knew baptism was such a sticky issue until I began to question it.

I never knew the Bible was so deep until I started to study it.

I never knew summer was so green until I saw a picture of it in February.

I never knew I was shy until I was a stranger.

I never knew how hard it was to forgive until Christ showed me the cross.

, ,

  1. #1 by Angela Starosta on October 2, 2010 - 7:02 pm

    It was a long time until i knew that columbine wasn’t just a massacre

  2. #2 by Joy on October 2, 2010 - 8:46 pm

    I never knew how great daughters would be until the Lord provided my sons with such lovely wives.

  3. #4 by Tierney on October 3, 2010 - 1:02 am

    This is rather lovely…

Leave a Reply

