If I’m gonna build up treasure on earth, it better be cheap.

Garage saling is near and dear to my heart because I’m frugal and because I can remember doing it almost every summer weekend growing up.

As I’ve aged, however, sleeping in on Saturdays has vastly grown in appeal, and nowadays ‘hitting the sales early to get the good deals’ has morphed into bleary eyed scavenging at approximately 11:59am. 

If we’re up early enough.

(Just kidding about that last part…we are always up by at least 10.)

While this has disadvantages (all the nice oak book cases have been snatched up and the coffee is cold), it isn’t all bad.  In fact, we’ve uncovered a little known fact about church yard sales that almost makes us pee our pants (well, okay, maybe just me, and maybe only if I’ve drunk a huge mug of cold coffee): at about 10 minutes until closing time, the chairman of the church sale looks around at the hords of remaining junk and panics.  And the bleary-eyed yardsaler’s ears perk up as the flood of offers comes pouring forth. 

Offers like whatever you can fit in this ginormous bag for $1 or I’ll throw that (and that and that) in free or even I’ll pay you 50 cents to take that rack of clothes with you when you leave.

(Sometimes I wonder if there won’t be tables and tables of really nice stuff at rock bottom prices in some back room in heaven, reserved just for me.)

For a grand total of 10 dimes last Saturday, Tim and I walked away with 3 brand new Ann Taylor shirts, a pair of barely worn size 12 roller blades, an exercise ball, a juice glass, Oliver Twist, and a glass platter that matches my fruit bowls.

It was exhilarating.

And then I realized the juice glass wasn’t the right shape and the shirts were too small.

But it didn’t really matter, because I pretty much figured we spent $1 on roller blades and everything else was free.

And then this is how much my husband loves me: even though he has never ever rollerbladed and has only one miserable skating experience to his name, he loaded those wheels into the car, drove to an empty parking lot, and learned to use them.  Because he knows that ice skating is just about my favorite thing ever, and he’s willing to try to learn to do it with me.

He is the most amazing person I know.

Plus, he was getting to be quite a good coaster by the end, and visions of a winter spent at the ice rinks have been dancing through my brain ever since.

Unfortunately, neither of us could remember how one is supposed to come to a halt when one is speeding along in one’s blades.

“Stop!”

“How?!”

“I don’t know, just do it!”

“I can’t!”

“But you’re heading right towards me!”

“AAAAAAAAAAAagggggggggghhhhhh!”

“Oooooomphf.”

Good thing the parking lot was flat.

‘Til next time,

The future Mrs. Pairs-Figure-Skating Olympic Gold Medalist

P.S. Does anyone want some extra small shirts?

  1. #1 by Tierney on October 1, 2010 - 12:02 am

    Probably just as well to miss the oak bookcases some of the time – too many of those, and your house starts getting kind of cluttered.

    My 2nd favorite part of this one is how you spent $1 on roller blades and got all that free stuff with them.

    My favorite part is how your husband is learning to skate for you. So awesome, so sweet. 🙂

    • #2 by Cristy on October 1, 2010 - 9:34 am

      hahaha…although too few bookcases, and your house still gets cluttered…with stacks of books! 🙂

  2. #3 by joannamv on October 1, 2010 - 2:25 am

    Roller-skating out in the big wide world involves way too many hills and bumps and cracks. It’d be cool to go ice-skating sometime this winter! I really like it, though go so infrequently that I need to find my feet every time haha.

    • #4 by Cristy on October 1, 2010 - 9:33 am

      We should! There’s at least one rink in the area that’s open year round….!! I grew up next to a pond that froze over every winter…ice-skating was the. big. thing.

  3. #5 by Betty on October 1, 2010 - 12:05 pm

    I miss going to garage sales. It is like going treasure hunting. I guess our latest treasure for hunting was blueberries!

  4. #6 by Rachel on October 4, 2010 - 1:03 pm

    haha..we love to sleep in on Saturdays too 🙂 I love Ann Taylor clothes too and usually I have trouble finding shirts that fit me..they always are too big! I totally know what you mean about Tim not knowing how to ice skate…Matt is the same way..not sure if you heard the story in college about him splitting his chin open? We have a little valley near us that they fill with water and once it freezes, we can go ice skating whenever! Matt & I got iceskates and went a few times last winter..he’s getting better, still hanging onto me most of the time, but its fun 🙂

    • #7 by Cristy on October 4, 2010 - 5:57 pm

      Oooooh, I think I do remember that story…ouch. Tim cut open his chin one time playing tennis, and he’s got a pretty good scar that interferes with his full beard…:-)

Leave a Reply

