Why Is Cleaning Out Your Closet So Much Easier Than Cleaning Out Your Heart?

Concise.
That’s how my closet will look in heaven.
It will be short and to the point
because it will be Simple,
Organized,
and Clean.
And it will stay that way.  Forever.

Purging.
That’s what I’m doing in my room today. 
Sorting, pitching, folding, organizing. 
Laundering.  
Dusting.
A taste of heaven
that I’m pretty sure will be gone by next week.

Far.
That’s the distance I am from glory
in my closet,
Not to mention my heart.
Thoughts, hurts, grudges, sin:
clear them out, box ’em up, send ’em off–I can’t.

Finish
what you’ve started in my heart, God.
Keep cleaning.
Though I test Your patience
daily–
Even still You promise rest.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

