A Trip to Town

1. I go to the grocery store.

2. I park, climb out, lock the car.  I walk two steps, stop, turn, unlock the car, climb back in, fish around my purse for a deposit slip, and put my checks in order.

3.  The bank is just inside the store.  I get a grocery flyer and a cart, and park it empty next to a row of halloween candy.  As the clerk tallies my deposit, I scan the ads.

4.  This is my third grocery store this week.  I have a coupon for $10 off $50, but I’m not sure I will be spending that much.  Although there is a good sale on beef and frozen vegetables.

5.  I scope out the meat aisle and decide what to come back for at the end of my trip.  I select 4 kiwis and a bunch of asparagus.  I swing through the dairy aisle looking for markdowns.  There are none.  I debate pasta, chow mein noodles, and baked beans.  I settle on the baked beans to go with porkchops tonight.  I pick up a can of tomato soup for lunches.  I try to think what else might sound good.  I look for protein shake mix, and I finally find it in the far back corner.  I spend ten minutes reading ingredient lists, and I reject them all.  I will try again at another store.  Clif bars are on sale, and I think that will do in a pinch next time I’m not hungry.  I stock up on 15 packs of frozen veggies, and I think about all the meals I will make this winter.  I go heavy on broccoli and green beans, light on corn and peas.  I go searching for Nutella, because I remember that Tim mentioned it weeks ago.  I am sorry I have forgotten until now. 

6.  I try to keep a running calculation in my head of my total.  I think it is well under $50…closer to $30, but I’m not sure.  I don’t think about it enough, and when I get through checkout, the total comes to $40.28.

7.  I kick myself for being all kinds of stupid.  I could have gotten a lot of free meat if I’d been more aware.  $10 worth.  That would have fed us for weeks. 

8.  This is the up and down of couponing: the elation of savings over against the sinking failure of an opportunity lost.

9.  The man who pushes my cart out to the car is deaf.  I find this out after I attempt to make conversation.  I wish I knew sign language.  I think how good it is that the store has hired him, and I am glad he is helping me.

10.  I don’t fill up the gas on the way home even though I want to keep the tank full so Tim won’t have to stop on his way to work next week.  I forget because I am still wallowing in my coupon woes.  I double kick myself the whole way home.

The end.

(11. Don’t worry, I’m over it now.)

  1. #1 by david padvorac on September 23, 2010 - 8:51 pm

    Coupon woes have got to be some of the worst, up there with dreary-drizzly-tired-day woes.

    Nice blog!

    Best
    David

    • #2 by Cristy on September 24, 2010 - 9:28 am

      Thanks for the comment! At least the coupon highs (usually) make up for most of the woes…

  2. #3 by joannamv on September 24, 2010 - 1:30 am

    So…Martin’s sells Nutella?

    • #4 by Cristy on September 24, 2010 - 9:27 am

      For $3.46/13oz in a plastic container…I can almost guarantee it’s not what you’re used to…

      …but we love it.

  3. #5 by Rachel on September 24, 2010 - 1:12 pm

    Wow, I have had the exact same experience!! Especially #7 – I always get mad at myself for being stupid. I think 1 time I asked them to hold my groceries so I could go get something else. But, I’m glad you are over it. It isnt the end of the world! 🙂

    • #6 by Cristy on September 25, 2010 - 11:34 am

      Live and learn, I guess. That’s what I tell myself.

  4. #7 by Tierney on September 27, 2010 - 10:44 pm

    If I listed all the days I’ve had like this … wow, that would be a long blog post. Just today, in fact, I noticed my gas tank was almost empty, pulled in at Casey’s, got all ready to fill it up … and realized my checkbook was 10 miles away in my cello case at home, and I didn’t have enough cash along to make the effort worthwhile. Thankfully almost nobody else was there to see me drive off again w/o accomplishing anything. 😛 Anyway – it’s good to know I’m not alone in these things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

