New Every Morning

Good morning!

The sun shines.

I wear my new-to-me turquoise corduroy long pants.  A shirt in my closet matches perfectly.  I feel cute for the first time this week.  No makeup, but I brush my hair.

The counter is clear of dirty dishes.  My fingers are little prunes.

I listen to music as I putter.

I am reading a new book.

I have a good idea for the Sunday school class I’m teaching next week.  My life thrives on good ideas.  I am a born schemer.  I like to create things.

It makes me happy.

I made a great meal last night for dinner to make up for the not so great one the night before.  Salmon in mustard barbecue sauce.  Pasta and broccoli in a white sauce (made with homemade yogurt).  Asian pears. 

It took 30 minutes or less, scratch to table.

I can get more done in a 30 minute crunch than the whole 10 hours previous.

I work well under pressure.

I tell myself that this is why I will be better as a mom of 5 kids than as a mom of 0.

I hope to prove myself right someday.

Or wrong.

As long as I have 5 kids.

We walk every evening.  I can hear the seasons change, and smell it, even when it is dark so early.

We’ve lost our health savings card.

I have grading to do.  Outside, perhaps?

The sun shines.

Good morning.

Thank you, God.

  1. #1 by joannamv on September 22, 2010 - 2:15 pm

    One question: when you have 5 kids will you blog as frequently?

    • #2 by Cristy on September 22, 2010 - 2:59 pm

      hahaha…I guess you’ll have to stick around and see, now won’t you? 🙂 ((stick around for other reasons, too, please…I’ll babysit for you if you babysit for me…………..!!))

  2. #3 by Sally on September 22, 2010 - 3:05 pm

    I think you’re right, about getting more done in a crunch. I know that now that I have 3 kids, there are lots of tasks that I zip through at tops speeds without a thought. I don’t realize how efficient I’ve gotten at many things, and how little time it takes to do routine stuff (clean the bathroom, load the dishwasher, fix a meal, etc.), until I watch someone else do it. Then, they do it so slowly it is downright PAINFUL for me to watch. I have to remember that there was a day when I wasn’t married, didn’t do all this stuff all. the. time. and wasn’t as efficient at it. Praise the Lord that I have sped up! Otherwise, I don’t know if we would ever eat a home-cooked meal or anything would get cleaned! Oh, multi-tasking is another thing that improves in leaps and bounds when you have multiple kids. I think I’m always doing 6 things at once, minimum.

  3. #4 by Sally on September 22, 2010 - 3:05 pm

    Boy, did I just over-rate myself in that comment or what? Well, maybe it helps me figure out why I’m so tired a lot of the time. That, and sleep deprivation.

    • #5 by Cristy on September 22, 2010 - 4:55 pm

      What you acccomplish in a day amazes me. I don’t think you over rated you!

  4. #6 by Betty on September 23, 2010 - 11:19 am

    I can guarantee that it won’t take 5 kids to feel time crunched. I can remember feeling like I was so busy with 1 child until I had another one. Then I wondered what I did with all that extra time I must have had with only one. Same thing happened when #3 was born. I couldn’t believe I thought I was busy with only 2. Life is so much about perspective.

  5. #7 by Tierney on September 27, 2010 - 10:46 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

