My Tribute to the Green Movement:

You picked a great color.

One that I don’t appreciate enough.

Until one evening towards the end of September, when my husband takes me to the park for supper.

Or the next afternoon, when I’m sitting on the couch, computer by my side, and we’re staring at the maple tree right outside our front window.

And it hits me:

all this green is a fad.  a fashion.  a trend.

And it’s on its way out, people.

That’s what I get from listening to the trees.

They said to tell you it’s been nice knowing you.

They said to tell you to invest in brown, because brown is definitely going to be the next green in a matter of mere weeks.

They said to tell you you’re invited to the going away party.  It’s all of next month. 

They said to tell you to come.

They said to tell you that there will be fireworks.

Red, orange, and yellow fireworks.

I think it’s their way of easing us into brown.

Invest!  Invest, I tell you!

I’m going to, right after I run outside to tell these green trees how much I’m going to miss them.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

