Window Treatments

We just this past weekend finished putting in new windows, and now we want to cover them up (ironic, isn’t it?). 

We need something that: 

1. will help (rather than hinder) the potential sale of our house in ~4 years 

2. is not too expensive 

3. is sturdy enough to last at least ~4 years (and hopefully many more). 

I’m thinking of ordering from JCPenney (I’ve got a coupon), and I’m looking at either Roman or Cellular shades (click on the words for an example if you’re not familiar with what each looks like). 

Here are the windows to be clothed: 

the den

 

the front room

 

Pop's room

 

Here are my questions, in the form of polls.  Please feel free to leave more feedback (if you have any) in the comments.  I’m mostly trying to get a feel for what *other* people like/find acceptable (my own tastes can be a little strange) since we are considering the ‘fix and flip’ approach to this particular house of ours. 

Thanks for the feedback!  I’ll be sure to post (including pictures) what we decide to do!

  1. #1 by joannamv on September 20, 2010 - 5:21 pm

    Shades are so American.

    • #2 by Cristy on September 20, 2010 - 5:22 pm

      What do they do in England?

      • #3 by joannamv on September 20, 2010 - 9:46 pm

        I think blinds are less common, people generally have curtains and net curtains. Blinds tend to be reserved for bathrooms and maybe kitchens. I still think of shades like the ones you’re talking about as very modern. The point of my comment was really that I didn’t have anything useful to say haha. Buying a house with window treatments included that I liked would be a plus, but it would in no way affect my choice to buy the house. I guess neutral colours are best. And keep it relatively cheap 😛

  2. #4 by Angela Starosta on September 20, 2010 - 5:54 pm

    I have roman blinds in the bedroom and austrian blinds in the livingroom (both made by my mother-in-law) and i love them both, though i usually leave the austrian one where they are, while the roman blinds go up and down constantly (i ❤ sun but our bedroom is first floor right near the road and we tore out our hedges :-o) Don't be afraid to go curtain-less if you have a room with tons of sun and interesting windows thats a no-naked zone!

  3. #5 by Diane on September 21, 2010 - 11:16 pm

    We have all different colored cellular insulated shades but they all show white to the street side. So you can have different colors and not look like a crazy mix matched house. Also I don’t know if you live to close to a Home Depot or Lowe’s but they will cut cellular shades to the size you need and you can save way more than you would with the Penneys catalog…We got a top down bottom up for our bedroom and love that with a black out feature,,Hard to get up in the mornings sometimes tho… LOL Got rid of my facebook page by the way taking up way too much time!!

Leave a Reply

