Steak Balsamico with Plum Sauce

On our recent camping trip, we spied a tree full of ripe, juicy and oh-so-sour plums.

Being the good Dutchmen that we are, we cannot pass said tree by.

So we don’t.

…which is how my sister and I find ourselves with 12 quarts of plums to process.

Thank goodness for my sister.

Unfortunately, my simultaneous endeavor to make homemade pectin out of tart apples failed miserably, and I ended up with a couple canners full of plum sauce instead of plum jam.  (Very, very tart plum sauce.)

Thankfully for me, a friend provided an award winning beef marinade recipe that called for fig preserves.

Fig preserves…plum preserves…plum sauce…same difference, right?  Right.  Plum sauce all the way, baby.

I made it for Tim last night, and it was a huge hit:

Steak Balsamico
2/3 cup balsamic vinaigrette
1/4 cup plum (or fig ((or blackberry–that’s what my mom’s going to try…I’ll let you know how it works))) preserves
4 steak cut of choice (I usually use whatever I can find marked down)
salt and pepper to taste
Mix vinaigrette and preserves well (with blender if necessary).  Coat steaks in marinade, marinate in refrigerator at least 2 hours.  Grill or fry steaks (since we don’t have a grill, I used a skittle…which let me cook the steaks in the marinade instead of discarding it).  Cook until done (~15 minutes), turning as needed.  Season with salt and pepper.
 

The original recipe was the 2003 National Beef Cook Off grand prize winner as cooked by Mrs. Lori Welander (I don’t know her, but my friend does).  Of course, I’m no champion cook; but we really liked it!

(Let me know if you try it, and what alterations you make!  I think it would be great with pork or chicken also…we’ll probably experiment with that soon.)

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

