How it went:

Today, I started my new job: teaching.  I’ve wanted to be a teacher since about forever (or at least 1st grade).  I taught music in several capacities in highschool.  I tutored science to half a dozen homeschoolers in college.  Now, I’m a one-day-a-weeker at a local homeschool academy, where I spend two hours introducing 14 3-5th graders to the wonderful world of biology.

This morning we learned each others names; defined biology, life, and cell; met fellow Science Club members Joe Lister, Rob Hooke, Tony VanLeewenhoek, and Louie Pasteur; donated finger germs for a culturing experience; and generally tried to navigate the hour successfully together.

It worked pretty well.

Some observations:

-I forgot to talk about God’s definition of life with my 3-4th graders.  That was supposed to be the point/highlight of my whole lesson.  Bummer.  Guess I’ll touch on it next week. 

-Along the same vein, the 5th grade class was much smoother because it was the second hour; I made all my mistakes the first time through.

-They LOVED the microscopes.  “Cool!”  “This is so neat!” “My sister is going to be so jealous!!”

-I think I remember all their names.

-I wrote all over the  dry-erase board with permanent marker, and had to spend half an hour after class cleaning it up for the next teacher.  As she said, “That’s the kind of thing you only do once.”  Except she was wrong, because I’ve done it twice.  Keep up the good work, Cristy.

-I kept their interest for about 3/4ths of the time.  Got to work on that other 1/4.

-I got rearended on the way home.  Thankfully, the ball was in the hitch, and it took all the damage.  It is a 90 degree angle no longer. I’m hoping that it will be cheaper to replace than the whole backside of the car would have been.

-Tim pulled a rare all nighter at work–we’d just fallen asleep last night when he got a call from his boss about an emergency at one of the (local, thankfully) power stations.  I’m not sure when he finally got home; it was after I left for school.  He’s up sleeping now, and I’m trying not to wake him.  He was more concerned about not being here to calm my first-day butterflies this morning  than all the lost sleep and added stress for him.  He is so nice to me.

-I agreed to sub for the highschool biology teacher on Thursday.  Yikes.  WHAT was I thinking?!  Thankfully, she’ll do all the prep work/lesson planning.

-I’m exhausted.  New things wear me out like nothing else.

-I’m only about half-unpacked from the weekend.

-I didn’t take very many pictures at the wedding.

-I hope the bacteria cultures grow by next week.

-I think I better go get some lunch.

  1. #1 by Mollie on September 13, 2010 - 3:34 pm

    Thoughts from a former teacher:
    1. Way to go on remembering names! That’s a very impressive feat!
    2. You’ll frequently forget to go over something you really wanted to mention. No worries. You’ll get it the next time!
    3. You can totally do high school bio. High schoolers are a different breed, but they are fantastic.
    4. Don’t worry about the other 1/4 of the kids’ attention. You’ll never get it. Truly. You will never hold their attention for an entire class period. Even if you show a movie. 3/4 is awesome! Don’t beat yourself up over the last 1/4…

    • #2 by Cristy on September 13, 2010 - 6:19 pm

      Thanks, Mollie! I know you were a great teacher, and I really appreciate your thoughts. I’ll let you know how it goes with the highschoolers… 🙂

  2. #3 by Gretchen on September 14, 2010 - 12:11 am

    1. Did you use whiteboard marker? Next time use the best/newest marker you have and completely cover the permanent marker. It’ll come “write” off.
    2. I seem to recall a whiteboard incident at Uncle Gary’s office… he.he.he.
    3. Enjoy high school bio. Glad someone out there likes the subject.

    • #4 by Cristy on September 14, 2010 - 1:48 pm

      I did discover that the whiteboard over sharpie worked pretty well. I was glad for that!!

Leave a Reply

