Oh, Promise Me

I have a love-hate relationship with weddings. 

Let’s just say I love other people’s.

And, okay, we don’t have to say that I hated mine.  Actually, it was the happiest event of my life to date: I became Tim’s.  I felt beautiful.  We got to kiss alot.   But I sure am glad I don’t ever have to do it again.  So much planning, so many people to make happy, so high expectations, so incredibly much stress.

And that was for a relatively very simple production.

But it was all worth it.  I love being married.  I’m not sure why.  I think mostly because Tim is involved.  But it might also have to do with the fact that for me, it was a very (and I mean very) profitable venture (I like quintuple-squared my net worth overnight).  Or maybe it’s simply the fact that I no longer have to take out the trash.  Whatever the reason, I’m a pretty happy camper.

But I digress.

We’re out of town this weekend because we have a–you guessed it–wedding to attend!  It’s the first wedding in, well, almost forever in which I have no part.  And I’m (still) really excited about it.

So excited, in fact, that I’m suddenly overwhelmed by the urge relive all the weddings I’ve ever heard of. 

Or at least the ones I’ve been to.

Hmmmm.  Maybe I’ll have to go on a wedding blogging spree.  Extravaganza.  Whatever.

Ready yourselves.  Stay tuned.  Touch not that dial.  All that jazz.

It’s gonna be pretty.

Of course, it won’t be as pretty as the real things.

And of course, I don’t have nearly as many pictures of all these said weddings as I wish I did.

I’ll try to do a better job of that this weekend…and work on getting permission to use the work of a few other people who DID have the presence of mind to take photos in the past when I did not.

Like my sister in law.

Anna, I confess that I stole the photo for this post from facebook without asking.  I hope you’ll forgive me.  I hope we can still be friends.

Please at least still speak to me this weekend.

Otherwise, this wedding we’re going to won’t be nearly as much fun.

Oh, and by the way…WHAT are you going to wear?

I don’t know yet either.

Yup.  Better get on that.

Guys have it so easy.

  1. #1 by joannamv on September 10, 2010 - 10:35 am

    Haha sounds like we have the same attitude towards weddings! Except I managed to make our wedding soooo simple that there really wasn’t any stress at all :B Well Joshua had some stress, he had to hide the vows up his sleeve and got all excited about it.

  2. #2 by Rachel on September 10, 2010 - 10:50 am

    I love weddings too! Which is good considering Matt & I have been to 20 since we got married! And Matt actually made me a memories book of all the invitations and thank you notes and programs and he printed pictures for all the weddings we’ve been too..I love it! 🙂 Have fun this weekend!

  3. #3 by Susan H on September 10, 2010 - 12:12 pm

    haha! I love the picture from this post… maybe cause it’s from MY wedding day! 😉

    have fun at your no-stress, not-involved wedding!

  4. #4 by Anna C on September 17, 2010 - 7:46 pm

    This is hilarious. I somehow managed to miss it completely…oh wait, it’s because I was crazy busy with work and getting ready for the weekend. So I still spoke to you that weekend… Only joking! You’re welcome to any of the pictures, and if you want good copies e-mailed to you just let me know!

    As far as weddings go: I liked mine, but I would have loved to do without all the stress (and it was about as simple as it could get). I liked yours, and wasn’t stressed:)

Leave a Reply

