Let The Fall Fun Begin

September 1, 2010.

The only hide or hair of fall I’ve seen here in Richmond so far are school buses.

WHERE did the summer go?

WHY is it still hitting 96 degrees almost every day?

WHO let the flies into the kitchen?!

WHERE did they all come from?

WHY do I not have a fly swatter?  (I killed 12 with a magazine last night.  Poor magazine.)

WHAT am I going to do about all the birthdays?

That’s right, folks.  From here to the end of the year, it’s nothing but birthday, birthday, birthdaybirthdaybirthdaybirthdaybirthday. 

I love birthdays.

But they present (haha) one small problem.

At minimum, in my immediate circle, there are 3 in September, 3 in October, 1 in November, and 4 in December, plus Christmas.

Do you KNOW how many gift ideas this requires?

I think I’ve just found a new full time job.

Thankfully, Tim and I sat down and brainstormed last night, and we’ve got one out of three covered for this month.

Whew.

Huge relief there.

Guess I better get to work on the other bajillion, huh?

  1. #1 by joannamv on September 1, 2010 - 11:26 am

    Flies are sneaky, that’s what. I was going to say they should make a spy film with flies in, rather than cats and dogs, but they probably already have. There’s that one with the flies who go to the moon…

    I’ve given up on birthdays, and I never did Christmas to begin with. So good luck 😛

  2. #2 by Sally on September 1, 2010 - 2:31 pm

    How in the world have you survived the summer this far without a fly swatter? We have 6-8 of them in our house alone. The main stash in on top the refrigerator. That’s where we can always find one.

Leave a Reply

