Confessions of a Delinquent Housewife

I never…

…finished my wedding thank you notes.

DAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

I feel guilty about this almost every day.

If you are one of those people, I profusely apologize, and I want you to know that we LOVE your gift.  Promise.

It’s been 14 months.

How late is too late to send the last few?

  1. #1 by solemndove on August 20, 2010 - 7:16 am

    technically, you have a year to do them, so 14 mos isn’t awful.

  2. #2 by Anna C on August 20, 2010 - 7:31 pm

    Never too late:) I think there’s 1 we haven’t written yet…hmm, I should remind N about that.

  3. #3 by joannamv on August 20, 2010 - 8:45 pm

    It’s never too late, unless they’ve moved on and you don’t know where they live nowadays!
    Due to our tiny wedding we didn’t have many thankyou notes to write 🙂

  4. #4 by Sally on August 20, 2010 - 11:10 pm

    I guess I’m unconventional. Please scrap mine from the list, I feel thanked through this blog post, and comforted that there are others in the world who get behind–seriously behind–on things, to the point of purging the whole project from the to-do list. Beyond that (dropping mine), I would say just nix the whole business after this much time. However, since I recently found out that one of my elderly relatives holds a (perhaps faulty) memory record of who has written him a thank-you and who hasn’t (and doesn’t seem afraid to tell you if you haven’t), maybe you should churn out thank-you notes to those over 60 or something like that. For those of us who are busy, living from meal-to-meal and basket-to-basket of laundry, we likely even forgot that we gave you a wedding gift, and if we did remember that, surely can’t remember who has written a thank-you and who hasn’t! (I hadn’t remembered it!)

  5. #5 by Diane Dykstra on August 21, 2010 - 10:57 pm

    It’s never to late…send the thank you with an apology… 🙂 Diane

  6. #6 by Betty on August 24, 2010 - 9:44 am

    My advice is to still write them. I never finished those last few (you must be your mother’s daughter) and felt guilty about it for many years. And then I lost the list of who I didn’t write. You will feel better doing it.

  7. #7 by Evelyn on August 25, 2010 - 10:41 pm

    Poor Cristy…everyone’s adding to your guilt. I wallowed in guilt for a year, then Jeff sat down with me for a Saturday and helped churn them out. (Prerequisite: the tense conversation about my fears that writing them together would only make us really mad at each other. Discussing the possible conflicts in our approaches really helped him know how to be gentle with me, since writing them is a miserable and difficult job for me to begin with. Then his help amazingly made it possible to finish.) The things I’ve read generally did say to keep writing them even if it’s a year later. I figured I needed to finish the wedding ones before the baby shower…

  8. #8 by joannamv on August 26, 2010 - 1:12 pm

    It’s not so much that it’s a “duty” to write them, however late. It’s more that if you want to write them, be assured that most people will appreciate the note from you however late it is. It’s not even that they really want to receive a thank you note, it’s just that it’s a lovely reminder of the wedding! In fact, being so late might be better because then it really is a reminder of a joyful past event 🙂 Wedding gift thank you notes aren’t something I expect, because the wedding couple are the ones who provide the entire wedding and reception to all the guests and so gifts are like a tiny thank you! lol.

  9. #9 by nigel on August 27, 2010 - 10:37 am

    Never too late to write thank you notes. Just be honest. Its amazing what a little honesty can produce!
    Found this list of why it is good for your community to shop locally. Well worth a look..

    http://blog.sidestreetstudio.com/wood/10-reasons-why-you-should-buy-local-arts-crafts/

  10. #10 by Grace on August 31, 2010 - 6:34 pm

    I love you! I am 6 months late writing thank yous for Sherman’s presents. 😛 Thanks for making me feel like I’m not alone in putting it off! 🙂

  1. Christmas Cheer and a Chance to Vote « DoubleKnotted

Leave a Reply

