Writer’s Workshop

Tim took me on a picnic while we were in Bath County, VA for a work trip.

I’m sure you’ll be happy to know that it didn’t rain a drop.

We went to a really nice little recreation area that his company keeps up near the power station. 

It has picnic tables,

 

grills,

lots of flowers,

and a pond.

Tim left me there after our picnic so he could go finish up at work.

Bye, Tim (can you see him there walking back toward the car?)!

It was okay, though, because I had work to do, too (and by work, I mean “work”).

Desk.

Pad of paper (which also happens to be the blank backsides of a bunch of medical clearance forms from my days as a cataract surgery scheduler).

Pen (it was blue!!  I do my best work in blue ink.  HOW did the B and B know that?).

I have been entertaining myself for hours with these three objects since before I was born.  Or maybe just shortly after.

Added for writing pleasure:

A light post-storm breeze

and a spectacular view.

Starbucks, you’ve got nothing on this.  Nothing at all.  Except maybe a vanilla mocha latte.

,

  1. #1 by Laura on August 15, 2010 - 10:02 pm

    I remember those days of you curled up with a spiral-bound notebook, blue or purple or orange pen in hand, writing away on your adventurous stories. And me anxiously awaiting the next installment. You beat the Boxcar Children and Nancy Drew hands down.

    • #2 by Cristy on August 16, 2010 - 9:15 am

      You, and your unfailing interest in my silly stories, are the reason I’m still writing!!

Leave a Reply

