Confessions of a Delinquent Housewife

I made a real dinner…

…last night for the first time in three weeks.

Poor Tim has been surviving for almost a month on mac’n’cheese (the microwave kind), toasted cheese, pizza with cheese, stirfry, dinner out, dinner out again, out, out, out, out, out, leftovers, out, leftovers, leftovers, tuna melts (microwave), chips and dip, leftovers, out.

I could say it’s because we’ve been sporadically traveling through that time.

Or I could be honest and say it’s because I’m disorganized and lazy.

I think I pick traveling.

  1. #1 by Sally on August 10, 2010 - 2:38 pm

    Hmmm…the no-cooking menus are the ones we have around here when I’m deep into a big project! I don’t have a traveling excuse for an option because we haven’t traveled further than church for a long time. There are some times when our menus are non-cooking because I plain down right don’t want to cook, or don’t know what to fix.

  2. #2 by Anna C on August 10, 2010 - 2:56 pm

    Mac n’ Cheese, Pizza and Stirfry are all “real” dinners as far as I’m concerned, and the others aren’t anything to sneeze at;) Your other excuse is that it’s been crazy hot and you don’t want to run the oven! We had a new client in at work today who runs a bakery, and he brought us pastries and baguettes! So I have some really good bread for dinner (now just to figure out what to have with it…)!

    • #3 by Cristy on August 10, 2010 - 3:32 pm

      Thanks, Anna, for the reminder! I guess I tend to think for some reason that anything that takes less than 15 minutes to make doesn’t really count. Silly, huh?

      We’re having Chicken Parmesean tonight…and it’s a super easy recipe. Just coat two boneless, skinless chicken breasts with raw egg and dried bread/cracker crumbs, cook in a skillet with olive oil until they’re done (turning once with a spatula), cover with spaghetti sauce, top with parmesan and mozzarella cheese, let simmer until cheese melts, and serve with spaghetti noodles. It’s yummy!!

      • #4 by Anna C on August 10, 2010 - 5:20 pm

        Sounds yummy! I don’t have any chicken right now (cheapest sale I’ve seen lately is 1.99 and I prefer less) but as soon as I do I might give this a try. I’ll try to call you tomorrow.

  3. #5 by Miriam on August 10, 2010 - 6:18 pm

    Soooo…. if you hadn’t JUST posted announcing that you AREN’T pregnant (the diapers you bought), I’d totally wonder if you were and were going through morning sickness 😛 Haha! I’m like you, and if it doesn’t take a while to make, it feels like taking the easy way out or something. I like what Anna said though… maybe it is the heat that’s making us feel below par in the motivation department 😛

    • #6 by Cristy on August 10, 2010 - 8:54 pm

      It’s so funny how people so anxiously await baby news from young couples! I remember being one who always wanted to jump to that conclusion when I heard a young wife complain about not feeling well, etc. Now I’m on the receiving end, and I feel a constant obligation to clarify…rumors fly, you know!! ;-b Not that I mind…it’s going to be so fun when we actually have news to announce! Until then, I guess I’ll just keep people hopping at phone calls (do you think she’s calling to say she’s pregnant?!) and reading between the lines of my posts….:-D

Leave a Reply

