A rare bit of productivity

Today was a very productive day for me.  It felt so good.  I had a really hard time waking up this morning, and thought for sure I was just going to go back to bed after Tim left for work.  But I didn’t…I did my reading (I just started an outline by D.A. Carson designed to help you read through the Bible in a year.  I needed something to keep me more accountable…I’ve been drifting a bit here lately ((from day to day and from book to book)), my New Year’s Resolution system petering out about a month ago ((I was logging Scripture passages, prayer requests, devotional readings, and thoughts in a daily planner type calendar to help keep me on track))) first thing, then put on paint clothes before I could think twice and tackled our upper most room.  Our house is a split level twice–we’ve got a ‘basement’ den that’s half a flight down, the kitchen/dining room/front room on the main floor, three bedrooms and 2 bathrooms  in our  ‘upstairs’, and then a fourth story (half a flight up from upstairs) over the den that’s just one big room (the room I just painted). 

It’s a wonderful room.  It’s big and light and has great views.  It feels like an eagle’s nest perched right there on top of our house.  It stays very nice and warm in the winter and very, very, very hot and miserable in the summer.  We haven’t used it yet.  But we’re about to, because we’re adding a member to our household this fall: Tim’s grandfather.  It’ll be his room, and he’ll have space for his bedroom furniture plus a recliner plus a computer desk plus a window unit air conditioner…almost like a little studio apartment.  I’m hoping it will be really comfortable.  Here’s some pictures of the room before and after this morning:

This is before I started painting.  It turned out a little blurry for some reason…sorry!  The room was originally a baby blue color, which was fine, but someone had taken a tack and poked hundreds of holes into the walls.  So I puttied them all up (or almost all…I found a few I missed today while painting…grrrrrr) when I textured our hallway a few weeks back, and we picked up paint on Saturday at our friend’s store.

There were lots of window, door, ceiling, and trim edges that had to be brushed.  I like to use a roller when at all possible…it’s quicker, easier, and I like the texture it leaves behind a little better than a brush stroke.

Here’s a finished wall drying.  I absolutely love the color we picked.  It was Benjamin Moore Blue Stream.  It’s darker than what I was expecting, which is fine with me but I hope it will be okay with Pop.  I asked his permission to paint the bedroom blue, and he sounded a little doubtful at first (his bedroom walls have always been white).  He conceded to a light blue, so I picked the lighter of the two shades I was debating.  If I could, I would go back and do our master bedroom in this color.  I ended up not really liking the blue we picked to do our accents–it was too much of a purpley blue.  This is a grayer blue, and like I said before, I love it.

This was the last wall to paint, and of course it seemed the longest.  I like to paint, but it is not nearly so much fun when I’m doing it alone (I’ve found this true for a lot of activities).  By this wall, my arms were tired of holding a brush and my nose was tired of smelling paint.  And I was thirsty.  And it was starting to get very hot.  But I made it through:

That’s the finished product!  It’s hard to get the true color from the photograph.  You’ll have to come see it for yourself some day!  I can’t wait to show Tim when he gets home.  I called him when I was finished just to hear him verbally pat me on the back for my work.  Pretty silly, huh?  But it’s nice to share something you’ve worked hard on with someone.

Then, because all the pressure I usually feel to be productive with my day was taken care of by that mammoth painting project complete, I had no problem heading off to the grocery store, buying 5 pounds of strawberries on sale (I kid you not, they are cheaper now than they ever were when they were ‘in season’ last spring), slicing them, and freezing them in 3 portion servings for me to pull out down the road for cereal or fruit salad.  Pop loves strawberries, as does Tim.  I’m a little nervous about having to keep a bit more of a structured meal plan in place with Pop here–so I’m planning to work ahead and freeze as much as I can for down the road when I just don’t feel like cooking and still need to serve up a good meal.

I saved some out from the freezer for us for tonight, and mixed in a sliced peach.  I’ll serve it with Chicken Parmesan, one of our favorites.  It’s easy, if you have the right ingredients.  Coat boneless, skinless chicken breasts with raw egg and bread crumbs, fry in olive oil in a skillet until cooked through, cover in spaghetti sauce with some italian herbal seasonings, top with parmesan and mozzarella cheeses, simmer until melted, and serve over whole wheat spaghetti noodles.  It is so, sooooooo good.  I love meals that taste like you’ve spent all day cooking but really only take a few minutes.  It’s one of my secrets for knocking Tim’s socks off.  Shhhh.  Don’t tell on me.

I even got to sit and read a little bit.  I’ve run in to some really, really good fiction books lately.  Soon, I’ll do a post about them so you can go check them out of your own library!

Talk to you later…

  1. #1 by joannamv on August 10, 2010 - 6:07 pm

    Haha what you did to your dishwashing liquid made me smile so much!

    You will have to do a post on the books you’ve read recently, because I can’t for the life of me remember the details of the one you told me about! (Quick google search later.) OK I managed to find out what it was by googling “modern fiction ruth naomi song heart”. I do love google! And I just put it on hold at the library 🙂 In fact, this might be the best way for me to get to work on my to-read list. Order online first. Henrico actually has a pretty good system 😀

  2. #2 by Miriam on August 10, 2010 - 6:14 pm

    LOL, you remind me of myself SO much! Way to easy to procrastinate instead of actually do something… Like to do stuff w/ somebody else instead of alone… Yup, that’s me, myself and I!!

    I’m glad Pop is going to be moving in with you guys. I realized last week that I haven’t seen him at church for a while. Maybe I’ve just missed him, though, since I always have to go get Susannah from the nursery as soon as church is over.

    • #3 by Miriam on August 10, 2010 - 6:15 pm

      PS – Now you have me wondering about those strawberries! I will have to go check out the sales 🙂

      • #4 by Cristy on August 10, 2010 - 7:28 pm

        Miriam, the sale is at Martins this week for $1.50/lb. The cheapest I ever saw them (other than Walmart, where I try to avoid buying produce) was $1.88/lb last spring. Plus, these strawberries weren’t as humongous as some of them are…meaning there are more strawberries with more flavor in one container (and less airspace inside each strawberry!).

  3. #5 by Laura on August 11, 2010 - 12:28 pm

    I love the color, Cristy! Way to muster your gumption and get it done.
    I spent awhile enjoying your strawberry picture; it captures quite abit of your life. Making healthy, delicious, fresh (real) food for your family; storing it up for the winter. Attempting to make dishwashing more fun by dressing it up. A pretty, bright curtain to help make your kitchen a cheerful place to be…motivation, motivation, motivation. Memories of your mountain years and growing up as an outdoors Colorado girl in the USFS cup which is holding the traditional scrubbers we grew up with. Pretty, polished woodwork around the window; you are a woodworker’s daughter! A bright window over the sink where you stand, work, and gaze out at creation. A classy sign reminding you to glorify God both for what you look outside and like and for what you dislike about what you see, and for what you are doing that you enjoy, and for those drudgery tasks.
    I love a picture that tells a story.

    • #6 by Cristy on August 11, 2010 - 1:34 pm

      Thanks, Laur! I took the picture to include the mug on purpose, because I figured you’d like to see it. 🙂 But I hadn’t thought of all the other things. You make it sound like such a good story…that’s a good reminder for me.

      COME EAT STRAWBERRIES SOON!

      I finished wrapping your wedding present today.

  1. A Post About Pop « DoubleKnotted

Leave a Reply

