Confessions of a Delinquent Housewife

I keep…

…my social security card in my wallet.

I don’t know where else to keep it.

If it’s not in my wallet, then I end up somewhere like the DMV or the Social Security office or some other stupid government agency associated with a marital name change without it.

This week, though, my sister lost her wallet. 

And she’s not sure if hers was in there or not.

So as soon as I find my purse, I’m gonna sort through my wallet and make my identity just a little harder to steal.

You should, too.

You never know.

  1. #1 by Leah on August 5, 2010 - 9:30 pm

    Oh, say it isn’t true!

    I keep ours in our “vital records” file in a locked filing cabinet. Don’t you have your number memorized? You really should have it memorized. Don’t ever whip it out where someone standing behind you could copy it down while you’re copying it down yourself.

    If someone steals that, you pretty much can’t ever get it back! Especially being this young!!!

    • #2 by Cristy on August 5, 2010 - 10:28 pm

      Oh, yes, I’ve got the number memorized…the problem is I kept having to show it as a 2nd form of ID when I was getting my name changed and my job paper work filled out!

  2. #3 by joannamv on August 10, 2010 - 11:55 am

    I don’t have my number memorised, so sometimes I think I should start keeping the card in my wallet. I know my husband’s, because I’ve had to write it on so many forms in the past. And his is my health insurance ID number! I don’t really seem to need mine haha. All the government agencies need to cooperate better: the SSA tell you never to carry the card with you but then the military go and make dependent IDs with SSNs on them.

Leave a Reply

