An Epic Adventure

Once upon a time, boy met girl.  Boy liked girl.  Boy loved girl.  Boy married girl.  Boy moved girl to middle of nowhere.  Boy and girl lived happily ever after.

And since boy is my brother and he is interning in Pennsylvania for the summer, we got to join them.  For a day.  Last week when we were in their neck of the woods (and by woods…I’m serious).

If you’ve never seen my brother, here’s a picture of him on his wedding day (if you know him, well, I guess you can still look).  He’s had that grin since age 4.  But this is about the widest I’ve ever seen it.

I love what this photo says about grinning grooms and blushing brides.

Here’s a photo of them just short of 2 months later:

I love what this photo says about how marriage agrees with them.

We showed up earlier than expected, and Maria gave us the grand tour.

Here’s their house: half cabin, half camper.  It is really, really rustic and really, really cute.  Maria is my new hero.  She has made it into a very comfortable home plus she befriended the little chipmunk that comes in to watch her do her devotions in the morning plus she is a great cook and she fed us.

I forgot to take a picture of the infamous turtle shell bowl.  But I did get a picture of these, which she had just been out to pick:

She keeps busy picking and canning wild berries and doing laundry by hand in a tub out back.

She gives free reign to Ben’s artistic license.

And she doesn’t really get freaked out by the grape arbor in their front yard, which is actually not a grape arbor at all.  Here’s how our conversation went:  Tim, to me–hey, look at that arbor!  That’s what we need for our grape vine.  Maria: um, actually, it’s a memorial to our land lady’s Dad.  Tim and I–Oh.  Maria:  He’s buried under it.

I thought it was funny until I read the headstone, and then I realized it was just sad.  Apparently, this man loved the sea and sailing.  It was his life, and it left him with only a false hope in death.

Another big front yard attraction was the rope swing. 

I want a rope swing.

We actually looked at rope at Lowes when we got home.  The back of every single package read: WARNING:DO NOT USE TO SUPPORT HUMAN WEIGHT.   Rats. 

We took a walk while we were waiting for Ben to get off work.

We got a chance to sit and talk.  That hasn’t happened much since the last three times we’ve seen each other have involved major weddings.

Then Ben and Maria took us out to eat at one of their favorite little places on the river.

And by ‘out’, I mean it.

Like I said before, this little place was on the river.

And it had a fire pit.

And a rope swing.

I didn’t get a picture of the rope swing, but it was a BLAST.  One of the few things that I’ve always wanted to do that wasn’t a disappointment when it actually happened.

They’d been saving a package of elk steaks for us for weeks. 

While we waited for them to cook….

…we hosted an impromptu fashion show with local accessories.

The food was excellent, as was the setting and the company.

We skipped rocks, splashed rocks, and hung on to this rope swing for dear life.

A super GREAT time was had by all.

Even if we did get a little cold and I didn’t get pictures of the rope swing.

Thanks, Ben and Maria!

  1. #1 by Grace on August 3, 2010 - 12:21 am

    Oh my gosh, that river place–is that the most beautiful place ever?? Wow. Great to see pix of the newlyweds. I’m so happy for them! I laughed out loud at the picture of their house/camper. It’s lovely. And I mean that nicely, not sarcastically. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!
    ❤ Grace

  2. #2 by Betty on August 3, 2010 - 11:11 am

    Great story, great pictures, great kids! Maria is the perfect women for Ben (as Tim is for you and Phil is for Laura).

    • #3 by Cristy on August 3, 2010 - 1:00 pm

      I agree, I agree, I agree!!!

  3. #4 by Laura on August 3, 2010 - 2:50 pm

    I absolutely love all the happy smiles and beautiful people and places here! Makes me really look forward to camping with you all!

Leave a Reply

