I love Arby’s curly fries

I’m writing from Pittsburgh, PA this week.  Tim’s here for a yearly conference put on by one of the vendors he works with.  It’s a big sha-bang in downtown at an upscale hotel/conference center with 26 floors (minus one; they left out floor 13).  The setting is a little intimidating for me…it’s definitely of a class into which I do not (nor want to) fit.  BUT I’m sure I can manage to enjoy it for the week! 

A major upside to this whole deal is not being home alone for the week.  I’m so thankful that I’m here with Tim this time around (this is his 4th conference, my 1st).  Last year at this time I was still working, we’d just gotten married, and it was one of THE longest weeks of my life.  I think I ended up spending most of it at Tim’s grandfather’s house so I didn’t have to be by myself at night.  Why are house creaks and cracks so much scarier when no one else is there to hear them, too?

Another big blessing: we have people to see in this area!  My brother and his (new) wife live about 45 minutes from here.  We’ll get to spend the evening with them on Thursday.  Their summer housing consists of a one room cabin built onto the side of a camper trailer right on the Allegheny River.  I can’t wait to see it.  I heard a rumor that they’re planning to take us on a river adventure involving a river, adventure, and a rope swing.  I can’t wait to confirm this rumor.  Also, Tim and I spent 4 years of our lives (the college part) about an hour north of Pittsburgh.  Since that was the not so distant past, several near and dear fellow collegians still inhabit these parts.  Friday is devoted to catching up with them.  Yay, yay, yay!

Speaking of catching up, did I mention that one of my favorite things on the road is Arby’s curly fries with extra ketchup?  Also, they now have Jamocha shakes on the dollar menu.  Excellent move, Arby’s!

We are in the middle of some major house projects.  Our ‘whenever’ deadline got pushed up to ‘the end of the summer’ (more on this later) on our den, our garage, and our upper most room.  (Someday soon, I’ll have to post a walk through of our house so you know what I’m referring to.)  It’s a good thing, because we needed a motivational kick in the pants.  But it also means that most of our down time for the next few weeks is booked.  Saturday we spent about 3 hours in Lowes looking at carpet, thresholds, garage doors, torque wrenches, freezers, towing balls, and trailers.  Since concrete floors, 107 degree weather, making decisions, and spending money rank right down there with extracting infected blackberry splinters on the list of our favorite things, it was a brutal afternoon.  But it is going to be so nice to have some of these projects completed.  We’ve been holding back on settling in to most of the rooms in our house until we can get them ‘fixed up’–I’m so looking forward to making our whole house a home soon!  Especially our den.  It is my favorite room, and it’s been ‘in progress’ for one reason or another since we moved in.  It’s so close now!  all that’s left is: 1) grout the tile 2) paint the hallway (that I just textured) and 3) install new carpet (we’re not going to attempt this ourselves, don’t worry). 

Our electricity bill quadrupled for the months of June and July.  Ouch.  However, I’m not going to complain too much because I would be dead right now if it weren’t for our air conditioning.  How did our founding fathers survive, I don’t even know.  

Tim’s key note speaker at his first session this morning has been to the moon.  My key note speaker at the spouse breakfast was the concierge.

The breakfast was entirely proteinless, which meant that my morning looked like an upside down V (wake up hungry low, bouncing off the walls carb high, plummeting blood sugar looooooooow).  Thankfully, Tim’s mid-morning break landed on the carb high instead of the blood sugar loooooow.  I had crackers, ham, and cheese for lunch and am feeling (relatively) stable at the moment, thank you very much.

I’m supposed to be working on some various writings and my science lesson plans right now.  But I have all week.  (My life’s motto seems to be: why do now what you can put off until later?  even though later always comes back to bite me where it hurts.)

Later!

  1. #1 by Gretchen on July 26, 2010 - 2:10 pm

    I love curly fries too. Now I am hungry for them. However I have NO idea where to find an Arby’s here. BRB…

  2. #2 by Sally on July 26, 2010 - 2:36 pm

    I’m glad you’re not spending the week alone. I always miss Andrew SO MUCH when he goes to CA in the fall. But, he’s not going this year because the conference falls right around the time our baby is due.

  3. #3 by solemndove on July 28, 2010 - 3:13 pm

    You’re in the burgh? We’d love to do dinner sometime if you like!

  4. #4 by Rachel on August 4, 2010 - 8:04 am

    Hey Cristy!! I just found your blog from facebook and have enjoyed the few posts I’ve read!! I’m not much of a blogger, but I enjoy reading others 🙂 Just thought I would comment on this post cause we just went to Arby’s on the way to Ocean City, MD this past weekend and ordered fries and I wanted the jamocha shake (which I was happy when I saw it on the dollar menu!). So, their shake machine wasnt working and we ended up getting regular fries in the bag (I didnt know they had 2 kinds!). I politely explained that I didnt realize they had 2 kinds of fries and we really wanted the curly fries and they swapped them for us! 🙂

    • #5 by Cristy on August 4, 2010 - 8:30 am

      Hi, Rachel!! Glad you found me. I have a similar story from Dairy Queen: I really, really, REALLY wanted their onion rings, and they gave me regular fries. I wasn’t brave enough to go back and ask for a swap, though. 😦

Leave a Reply

