Found!

Well, after much (more) searching Friday morning, we finally found what we were looking for for Tim’s mom…a set of fruit salad bowls.  Not any set, though…the same set (apparently) that she’d had when they first got married.  That was over 30 years ago (I can’t remember how much), and by now all that’s left of that original set is one single berry bowl.  We found 8 more, plus two serving bowls.  Scattered around 5 different stores.  It was sweet victory.  Plus, now I know all kinds of neat places to shop for gifts.  Or just to go sightseeing.  Antique malls are amazing places.  Next time, I’ll be taking my camera. 

We added two peaches, half a carton of blueberries, half a carton of blackberries (that we’d picked), and a few bunches of grapes (from our own vine) to finish the gift off, plus a DVD of our wedding ceremony and a card. 

Hopefully she won’t be offended by a gift card for Christmas, because we are now officially fresh out of good ideas. 

Although there’s still some time to drum something up between now and December.

But not much (people, July is over half over).

I learned two things: one about the dishes, one about myself.

1. This particular set of dishes is the style Early American Pressed Glass.  Pattern Wagon Wheel.  Size Berry Bowls.  Used to come free in cereal boxes a long, long time ago.  My mom has a set from a good friend, and Tim’s grandfather has a set…so we knew they had to be fairly common.  You’ve probably seen them before, too.  I didn’t have time to take a picture of them (I barely got them washed and wrapped), and I can’t find one online.  Maybe someday I’ll get a chance to get a photo posted.

2.  I can now navigate (certain sections of) Richmond on roads I have never been on without a map.  This is huge, huge, HUGE news, people.  It’s only taken me 2 years…

  1. #1 by Anna C on July 19, 2010 - 2:22 pm

    That’s a wonderful gift Cristy! I’m sure she loved it. She was telling me about how she only had one left last time we were in Luray. I can’t believe you were able to find them, but that’s great!You and I will have to go to some of those antique shops when we’re visiting sometime:)

    Good job on #2!

    • #2 by Cristy on July 19, 2010 - 8:55 pm

      Yes, lets! I really, really want to go back with someone. I tell you what, the colors and variety and beautiful things…it’s amazing!

  1. Splurge « doubleknotted
  2. Pet Peeves « DoubleKnotted

Leave a Reply

