Pet Peeves

1.  Thrift store operations that don’t charge thrift store prices.  Seriously, people, I’m not going to pay $10 for a glass plate that has someone else’s dust all over it…

2.  Having to buy a gift without having a great idea of what to buy.  This tends to be the worst at Christmas.  I can usually come up with one good idea a year (birthday), but two can be really, really hard.

3.  Having the perfect idea for a gift but not being able to find it.  This is the worst.  Unfortunately, 5 thrift stores later, it is still me.  Tim’s mom’s birthday dinner is  tomorrow night.  I’d tell you what we are trying to get her, but then I’d have to kill you.  Well, not actually.  But metaphorically.  Either that, or Tim’s mom would have to stop reading for the rest of this post, and that’s not very nice.  Keep reading, Mom.  My lips are sealed.

(I’ll let the rest of you know what we find sometime after tomorrow night.)

I did find some beautiful china plates at one of the thrift stores, though.  All mismatched, which is my favorite.  I love beautiful and various china patterns!  My plan is to turn these into serving platters by gluing them to an appropriate glass base…I think they could turn out really nice.  At least, they look nice as an idea in my head….

  1. #1 by Anna C on July 15, 2010 - 9:24 pm

    Are you headed to Luray for the weekend?

    • #2 by Cristy on July 16, 2010 - 7:34 am

      We’re going to meet them just for dinner in Harrisonburg. It’s a lot closer for us, anyway, and Tim thinks he can get off a little early this afternoon. Hope so!

  2. #3 by Sally on July 18, 2010 - 4:11 pm

    Don’t forget to reveal what the very hunted gift was!

  1. Let The Fall Fun Begin « DoubleKnotted

Leave a Reply

