Yawn

It’s after noon, and I’m still in my pajamas.  So much for Fly Lady’s number one mantra.  BUT I feel like I have been at least somewhat productive this morning (especially compared to my typical Monday slump).  So there, Fly Lady.

I’m working on my lesson plans for a class I’m teaching this fall: 3-5th grade science.  I’m using a curriculum called NOEO.  It includes a bunch of Usborne books that I really, really like so far–The Complete Book of the Microscope, Mysteries and Marvels of Nature, the Science Encyclopedia.  I’m pretty stoked about my ideas for the class, and they’re coming together nicely.  Here’s what it’s looking like (for the first week):

—-

September 13: Introduction to Biology: new Science Sleuthers’ induction into the Science Club, fingerprinting (growing bacteria cultures), and detective tools training (microscope use).

     Mission: (homework, to be completed by the next class period):

Background check: read Complete Book of the Microscope (CBM) pp 5-6 and 80-84.  As you read, make a list (from the 2nd reading) of the 4 fellow science club members (you do not need to include Nicolas Hartsoeker) who worked with the microscope and one fact about each.  Put the list in your Sleuth Notebook.

Code words: define biology, life, and cell (use a dictionary, what you learned in class, and/or  the Usborne Complete Book of the Microscope [CBM] glossary to write out definitions in your Sleuth notebook)

Read Genesis 2:7, John 1:1-4, John 14:6, and Acts 17:25, 28.  Think about what the Bible’s definition of life is.  Pick one of these passages and memorize it by September 27.  

Detective work (learning to think like a science sleuth):

Make a list of things that are alive.  Your list must contain at least 10 items.

Now pick one thing you can see with your eyes that is alive and draw it (it does not have to be from your list).  Look at a small portion of the same object under the microscope, and draw what you seeLabel both of your drawings.  What did you see with the microscope that you had never seen before?  Remember, good detectives always look both at the big picture AND the smallest details!

—–

I ate lunch!

I’m out of chocolate.

It looks like rain (told you).  I can see it now: at exactly 3:24 (ETA at the pool), it will be downpouring.

My hands smell like raw fish.  Yuck.

My menu plan for the week includes:
Salmon, sweet potatoes, and broccoli slaw
Leftover bbcue chicken (the new sauce recipe turned out great!), potatoes, green beans
Hamburgers, sweet potato salad
Chicken Parmesan
Frittata
We’ll see if I can stick with it.

Found a coupon for a free Krispy Creme lemon pie donut in the Sunday paper.  Guess where we’ll be headed tonight after dinner? 

Talked to my brother who is living the high life in the wilds of western PA catching, cooking, and eating snapping turtles.  With adventures like that, who needs internet access and cell service?

We’re working on a few major house projects right now–like replacing all our windows, replacing our (completely non functional) garage door, and modifying the angle where our driveway meets the street.  Tricky stuff, yo.

I’m re-reading The Hobbit and particularly enjoying Tolkein’s gift for word choice and combination.  Later this week I’m hoping to get to the library to look for a few of the books recommended in World Magazine’s recent Book Issue.  I’m especially hoping to find some of Brett Lott’s work.

My hands still smell like raw fish.  Guess I’ll go wash them.  Again.  For the 5th time.  Maybe I should try a stronger soap?  At least the candle I lit to  purge the kitchen of the odious odor did the trick…

  1. #1 by Mollie on July 12, 2010 - 1:42 pm

    Lemon juice to get the fish stank off of you. 🙂

  2. #2 by Sally on July 12, 2010 - 2:14 pm

    You could try washing your hands with toothpaste. That helps with some odors.

    I too can get a lot done before I get dressed some mornings–and then it’s nearly noon until I get dressed. It’s o.k.

  3. #3 by Miriam on July 12, 2010 - 2:28 pm

    Changing the driveway angle… just drive where you want it to be, it’ll soon wear down the grass and become habit 😛 Haha.

    Out of chocolate… that’s bad. Shoot up a flare if you become desperate 😛

    And I was going to suggest lemon juice or baking powder for the hands. Or handle some rotten potatoes or onions – they won’t smell like fish anymore 😛

  4. #4 by Anna C on July 12, 2010 - 2:46 pm

    Sweet potato salad? I think I need that recipe:)

    The lesson looks great!

    I hope Nathaniel doesn’t check this today, b/c if he does I can forsee a stop at Krispy Kreme regardless of the fact that we don’t have coupons (and you can bet we would end up with more than 1 donut!).

Leave a Reply

