Frantic Friday

Hmm, let’s see, what’s new? 

Oh, yah.

We’re having 20 people over tonight for dinner.

We decided on this plan of action yesterday.  Evening.  At about 8:00.

WHAT were we thinking?! 

Oh, yah.  That we want to have the people of the church over for supper.  It started with a family and somehow…snowballed to half the church (to the other half: please don’t be offended by our limited seating and please keep next Friday evening open).

So early this morning I head to the grocery store for chicken and vanilla ice cream (I know, I know, we serve such balanced meals around here).  I ended up with chicken, vanilla ice cream, cantaloupe, yellow and red peppers, cucumbers, green beans, gatorade, and something else I can’t remember.  Oh, yah.  broccoli slaw.  It was a markdown.  I couldn’t resist. 

The important thing is not what I ended up with (unless you’re coming to dinner tonight), the important thing is what I ended up without…AT the checkout line…WITH all my groceries on the conveyor belt:  my wallet.  Ooopsie.  I’d stuffed it in my swim bag yesterday afternoon (by the way, we didn’t actually get to swim.  Anyone in Richmond want more rain?  Since it’s been like 2 months since we’ve gotten any?  Invite me swimming).  BUT I had my checkbook.  SAVED!!!  “Um, ma’am?”  I ask, even though she’s still helping two cute old ladies in front of me.  “Do I need an ID to write a check?”  Affirmative.  OoopsieWoopsie.  A very nice clerk returned my ice cream to the freezer.  Another very nice clerk wheeled my cart into the produce cooler.  And one very ditsy blonde made a quick run back to her house for her lifelines.  I admit.  It could have been way worse.  All’s well that ends well.

So we decided on a menu of what we have in the fridge.  Which happened to be chicken (just not quite enough), green beans, raw veggies, corn pudding (we had leftover cooked corn on the cob in the fridge), and fruit.  Mary’s bringing mashed potatoes.  Amy’s bringing a salad. 

I converted 20 pounds of bony, skinny chicken breast into boneless skinless this morning with my bare hands.  My crockpot has never been this full.  I hope it still works.  I’m trying a new barbecue sauce recipe.  I hope it works, too.

Produce on sale this week at Kroger plus stuff we had leftover from Tim’s mom’s trip to the farmer’s market right before her trip to our house:

I managed to pick 3 good tasting cantaloupe!  What are the odds?

I still need to cook the green beans (I already snapped them), make a vegetable dip, make the corn pudding (I have the corn cut off the cob), make dessert (I made granola this morning, so I’m all set to do a blueberry-peach version of my cobbler), and clean the kitchen.  definitely all manageable.  And mostly enjoyable.  So actually, I’m quite looking forward to the evening.  I’m hoping we can do a hymn sing, maybe a little Bible study, maybe some board games…

Did I mention I was using paper plates? 

And that any minute a handyman is going to show up to measure our windows for replacements?

And that I’m on my lunch break, which is how I can be blogging instead of working in the kitchen?

And that we rescheduled our pool date for Monday, so don’t hang any clothes out on the line?

  1. #1 by Anna C on July 9, 2010 - 2:41 pm

    Haha, you should come up here and try to go swimming. I think it’s finally supposed to rain tonight, but you never know.

    It sounds like a crazy day, but you got it all worked out. I’m sure everyone will have a blast! I’m in the last stages of planning my crazy weekend…which is here…still feeling a little unplanned and behind, but turns out I don’t have to work tomorrow so I should be good!

  2. #2 by Mollie on July 9, 2010 - 2:53 pm

    You make my heart smile. I love how you write… it makes me laugh out loud!! I’m waiting for confirmation on Monday (you know, from the people who actually belong to the pool) and I’ll keep you posted!

  3. #3 by Sally on July 9, 2010 - 3:23 pm

    Oh my! Sometimes on my way to town, I check my pocketbook to see if my wallet is in there. I’ve done everything else that can be labeled absent-minded (including showing up at the doctor’s office and arguing with the clerk that I had an appt. that morning–but after I came home and looked at my notice, it was in the afternoon), but that one is still waiting to get me!

    Sounds like you have things very well under control. I’m working at getting this place under some sort of control, after letting a bunch of stuff slide while I worked on special projects. I can’t wait to get sewing again! Maybe I’ll do a little teeny start this evening.

  4. #4 by Miriam on July 9, 2010 - 4:06 pm

    Y’all are brave souls. But it sounds like you’re pulling it all off very nicely 😛 Crockpots and paper plates are a woman’s best friends! (and the dishwasher!!) I can’t wait till we get our addition built so we can have room to properly entertain!

  5. #5 by pkwynn24 on July 12, 2010 - 3:31 pm

    Customer service at its finest. It’s good to know you appreciate the things that grocery clerks do to keep your business. Awesome!

  6. #6 by pkwynn24 on July 12, 2010 - 3:31 pm

    Oh one more thing. hope they didn’t roll their eyes or anything.. i have a bad tendency to do that =/

    -Paul

    Adventures of Grocery Clerks
    http://www.mostlygrocery.com

Leave a Reply

