Homemade Granola

This does require an oven, but it’s worth it–one batch lasts the two of us almost 2 weeks of wonderful, nutritious, stick-to-your-ribs breakfasts, especially with homemade yogurt (recipe soon) and fresh fruit!

Ingredients I regularly use:

  • 1 cannister old-fashioned oats (48 oz–about 15 cups)
  • 1-2 cups wheat germ (optional, but highly recommended because it adds so much protein.  The best (cheapest) place to buy wheat germ is in bulk at a whole foods store.  If you haven’t discovered a good one (like me), you can get it at a regular grocery store…mine is in the cereal aisle by the bran cereals.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1-1 1/2 cup chopped nuts (I’ve used almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, and pecans all with great success)
  • 4-6 cups Bran (I’ve used wheat bran or Fiber One Cereal.  I’ve also experimented with flake cereals ((i.e. wheaties or cornflakes)) and cheerios to add variety and texture)
  • Several generous shakes of cinnamon (~1/2 Tbls)
  • One shake of all spice or nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cup oil (I’ve used canola or olive oil)
  • 1 1/2 cup honey (honey is easiest to work with here if it is heated slightly in the microwave first)
  • 1 tsp vanilla or maple extract (I use vanilla because I have it on hand)
    Mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately.  Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients, stir to coat. OIL or GREASE (very important step) two 9×13 baking pans, divide granola evenly between them.  Bake both together at 350 for 15 the minutes, then turn oven off but leave pans in oven until oven cools.  (Baking times may vary slightly–you want it to be lightly browned on top before you turn off the oven.  Also, you can use a deeper baking dish ((like a roasting pan)), but you will have to bake it longer and stir half way through).  Remove and store in an air tight container (I use my oatmeal canisters).  Keeps fresh at least two weeks!  Serve with milk or yogurt and fruit, or use as a topping for fruit cobbler.

Optional additions from my original recipe (a Mennonite cookbook we got as a wedding gift) that I don’t usually use, but might be good:

  • 2 cups coconut (adds a nice taste, but not much nutritional value)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup sesame seeds (I’ve never used)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup brewers yeast (Haven’t tried this, either)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup ground roasted soybeans (nope)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds (my mom does this, and it’s good)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup dried fruits (if you use dried fruit, be sure to wait to mix it into the granola until you are stirring it after the first baking.  Otherwise, it will burn).

 

On that note, I’m off to the grocery store to restock my granola and yogurt making supplies.  Hopefully I’ve given the clerks enough time to do their markdowns for the morning…!  Then this afternoon I may get to head to the pool to help a friend with her two kiddos.  Sounds like a good way to beat the heat to me!

, ,

  1. #1 by Miriam on July 8, 2010 - 9:35 am

    We do the coconut and sunflower seeds, and also use peanut butter in the liquid mixture. Brewers yeast… and in that amount? Yuck, yuck, YUCK!! If you’ve never tasted brewers yeast, don’t. It is naaaaaasty!! I’m not sure why they would call for it in granola!? It was recommended to me (by someone I trust) to take a little every day to help with my breastmilk supply and quality – it took me a long time to be able to get any down without my stomach trying to send it back up. Anyway, all that to say, I won’t be trying Brewers Yeast in my granola! (And I stopped taking it, it was just too much.)

    You probably already know of these two bulk food places, but Sharp Shopper in Harrisonburg, and the Shenandoah Valley Heritage Farmer’s Market (just south of Hburn on Rt. 11) would probably carry wheat germ in bulk. If you’ve never been to Sharp Shopper, I’m sure you would love it! I’m hoping we might be able to stop in and get some more cheap OJ this weekend while were in the Valley.

    • #2 by Miriam on July 8, 2010 - 9:36 am

      Oops, I mean “Hburg” not “Hburn” 🙂

  2. #3 by Mollie on July 8, 2010 - 1:19 pm

    I like the pool idea! Especially to help a friend with her 2 kiddos! So thankful to have you here!!

Leave a Reply

