Iced Tea

Am I the only one who really doesn’t like water?

Okay, I’ll admit that I have gotten better than, say, age 12 (milk kick).  I’ll drink it now with meals.  But in between 12 and 6 (umm, that would be lunch and supper)?  Not a chance.

In honor of the unseasonably warm weather (today topped 102 degrees; tomorrow is supposed to be worse), here is a (short) series of warm weather recipes beginning with one of the easiest and most important: a fluid other than water.

Confession: I live in the south, and I really don’t care for sweet tea.  Taste, calories, thirst quenchingness, nutritional value…it can’t make the cut.  It’s just not my cup of tea (don’t take this personally, sweet tea.  I don’t like koolaid or sodapop either).  Please keep this in mind. 

But I do like iced tea, and one particular kind of iced tea in particular (that may sound redundant, but it’s not): fruit flavored.  You know how you can get those herbal fruit teas?  Or even green teas that come in fruit flavors?  Let’s see, there’s strawberry, wildberry, peach, apple cinnamon, cranberry zinger, orange, blueberry, black cherry…all those weird flavors that taste even weirder as hot tea?  They taste GREAT iced.  And personally, I don’t think sugar/sweetener improves the flavor at all!

Heat one mugful of water in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.  Add two teabags and let steep for at least 3 minutes.  Fill a pitcher with water and ice; add steeped tea; refrigerate.  Total time: less than 5 minutes.  Makes: 2 quarts.

Don’t miss my favorite part: 2 teabags.  Do you know what this means?  Combinations, baby.  Endless variety.  A taste for every bud.  The opposite of everything I don’t like about water.

My favorite combinations so far are Apple Cinnamon/Cranberry Zinger and Wild Blueberry/Mint.  I also like Strawberry Green Tea pretty well by itself. The verdict is still out on Black Cherry.  I’m sure I’ll get plenty of opportunities to continue to experiment.  I’ll let you know what I come up with!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Gretchen B. on July 6, 2010 - 6:12 pm

    Nice blog, Cristy. 🙂 Hope you don’t mind if I add you to my list and read more often!

    • #2 by Cristy on July 6, 2010 - 7:35 pm

      Not at all! Glad you like it…

  2. #3 by Grace on July 6, 2010 - 7:20 pm

    I miss your ice tea at Bible study!

    • #4 by Cristy on July 6, 2010 - 7:40 pm

      I miss your face at Bible study.

  3. #5 by Leah on July 7, 2010 - 1:04 am

    Is that really watery iced tea? You know me, the flavor queen. I love water, hate anything watery.

    Silly question, how did you get ads by google? I don’t want to get them, I just thought that wordpress did not support google ads on its platform.

    • #6 by Cristy on July 7, 2010 - 9:14 am

      Herbal tea always looks ‘watery’, even when it’s pretty strong…at least for me! You should try it and see what you think.

      I don’t know about the google ads…they don’t show when I look at my page. Maybe because I linked up to a few blogspot blogs?

  4. #7 by Gretchen on July 11, 2010 - 3:39 pm

    1. Black Cherry is always tasty. (See Switch or Kool-Aid if you are unconvinced).
    2. Green tea makes me want to puke.
    3. I will refrain from a snide remark about you making “weak” tea.

    That is all.

    • #8 by Gretchen on July 11, 2010 - 3:39 pm

      Rats. There is more than one Gretchen. However you probably know which one this is.

      Sincerely, Grass.

Leave a Reply

