Entertaining Angels

One thing I’ve learned to love about living in Richmond: it is very centrally located. 

Another thing: we have a guest bedroom.

Between the two, a third: company. 

Love, love, love company.

Let me take you on a tour of our establishment.  In case you happen to be passing through Richmond (it is very centrally located–you can pass through it on your way to almost anywhere, did I mention that?).

If you’re the first to reserve, you’ll be staying here (unless you are superceded by our parents):

This is a very comfortable place to stay.  We know.  We tried it out.  Pillow top mattress courtesy of our pastor and his wife.  Not to mention all the furniture.  We have an extremely generous pastor.

The quilt is my favorite thing in the room, except for the wedding pictures and the tea sets.  An Indonesian woman made it.  Her family cut her off when she converted to Christianity.  This is how she supports herself.  Her work is incredible.

Let me know if you want one.  They are extremely reasonably priced.  Like $130.

The room comes with its own bathroom just down the hall.  You only have to share if we are double booked.

Kitchen and full meal plan included with a minimum 1 meal stay.

Menu plans are customized to fit your tastes and preferences as long as those tastes and preferences can be found in a local grocery store weekly sales flyer. 

(This is this week’s menu.  Seeing as it’s a holiday weekend, it’s looking like a very good week for company.  A college friend and her husband are flying in tomorrow from Flagstaff and staying until Sunday.  Anna and Nathaniel will be here Saturday and Sunday.  Tim’s parents might come Sunday and Monday.  All of Tim’s local extended family is scheduled for supper on Thursday.  Sunday afternoon is a church wide picnic.  Wheeeeeeeeeeee!) 

So, if you are passing through Richmond (or planning a trip here), I just want to say this: please come see us.  We would love, love, love to have you!!

  1. #1 by Sally on June 28, 2010 - 2:01 pm

    This looks really great! How close are you all to Miriam & Daniel? That’s about the biggest reason we would be down your way.
    It sounds like you are going to be busy with all that company. I would be sweating buckets and trying to figure out how I was going to get everything cleaned and cooked for all the company.

  2. #2 by Anna C on June 28, 2010 - 3:08 pm

    As I said before, somebody has it all together! Don’t go to too much extra work for us. Let me know what I can bring, also. I’m sure we’ll talk at some point this week. We’re looking forward to coming!

  3. #3 by Laura on September 8, 2010 - 9:56 am

    A beautiful room, but even more beautiful and fun hosts!

  4. #4 by Evelyn on October 23, 2010 - 12:02 pm

    Whoa, I just saw this post (the picture of the quilt on your latest post drew me) and I love that quilt! And can’t believe the price! Some day, when I have another bedroom and bed, if my budget isn’t limited to Goodwill I will totally get one of those! I hope I don’t forget and you can still find her for me then. I’m so excited. In the meantime I’ll just have to figure out a way to come visit you. 🙂

    • #5 by Cristy on October 23, 2010 - 12:32 pm

      YES! Come visit us!! (And we’ll let you know when we’re in your area again…looks like it might be this winter sometime…!!)

  1. Dear House, « DoubleKnotted

Leave a Reply

