Folks, we have a winner.

Hello.  I come to you today at 4:00 pm.  We are having company tonight.  And I don’t have plans for dinner.

The company is coming after dinner.  I should clarify this.

I should also clarify that the reason I don’t have plans for dinner is that the thermometer on my wall reads 102.4F.  Umm, yah.  That rules out chili, doesn’t it?  In fact, it rules out EVERYTHING even REMOTELY connected to a heat source.  Unless that heat source happens to be a microwave.

One sister recommended this–it’s quick, easy, and she served it to her hubby last night with great success:

Pasta Carbonara Frittata
8 oz spaghetti
2 T olive oil
4 oz bacon (recipe calls for turkey bacon)
6 large eggs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
salt and pepper
Cook spaghetti, drain and toss with olive oil. Let cool. Cook bacon in skillet over medium high heat until crisp, 5-8 min. Drain on paper towels. Discard all but 1 T of fat in skillet. Preheat broiler to high. Whisk eggs, Parmesan, garlic, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper in a small bowl. Pour over spaghetti and toss to coat. Crumble bacon over spaghetti and mix well. Place skillet over medium-low heat; add spaghetti mixture, spreading evenly with a spatula. Cook until bottom is well-browned, about 8 minutes, sliding spatula under frittata occasionally to loosen. Place pan under broiler and cook until top is set, about 3 minutes. Cut frittata into wedges and serve. Serves 4 (magazine says at $1.52 per serving).

Another sister suggested homemade pizza with green peppers, onions, kielbasa, and pineapple.  That’s what she’s fixing her husband.

I have yet to consult the third, but I’m sure she’s preparing something delectable for my brother.

Sorry, Tim.  I think you lose on this one.  All those things require a heat source other than a microwave. 

Hmmm.  I wonder how frittata would taste grilled on a sidewalk?

Okay, I just plugged in two ingredients to allrecipes.com (HOW did my grandmother survive without online cookbooks, I don’t even know): cooked rice (leftover from yesterday) and eggs (not leftover from yesterday).  Here’s what I got:

Coconut Raisin Rice Pudding–um, not exactly what Tim will expect on his plate after a long day’s work at the office.

No Fuss Rice Pudding–well, I like the no fuss part.  I like that alot.  Can we keep that and, say, scratch the rice pudding?

Stuffed Cabbage–you know, I love stuffed cabbage.  In March.  When cabbage goes on sale for St. Patrick’s Day.  And I actually have some in the fridge.

Fried Rice–hmm.  hhhhhmmmmmm.   HHHHHMMMMMMMM.

Fried Rice and Chicken–Folks…

  • 1/2 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed–I have this in my freezer.  If I can find it.
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped–I have a bunch of these in my fridge.  Like a 5lb bag.  And a few in the garden.
  • 1 celery rib, chopped–I could leave this out and substitute…um…sweet potato.  Of course.  So closely related.  Plus, I happen to have one left over in my fridge from two nights ago.
  • 2 eggs, beaten–check
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked rice–check
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce–CHECK!!
  • In a large skillet, saute In the microwave, cook the chicken, carrots and celery until juices run clear vegetables are tender (chicken is already cooked); remove and keep warm. In the same skillet, scramble Add eggs over medium heat, breaking into small pieces, microwave some more. Stir in the chicken mixture, rice, soy sauce.  Serve with sliced peaches, blueberries, apples, and iced cold freezing ice tea.

    …we have a winner!

    1. #1 by Miriam on June 25, 2010 - 2:02 pm

      I was going to suggest Fried Rice when I saw you had rice and eggs!! Fried rice rates VERY HIGH with my tastebuds and I love to make it. I like to add Oyster Sauce, Corn, thinly sliced squash and zucchini (when it’s coming out your ears), onion…. the one vegetable that I’ve tried in it that wasn’t *quite* “up to snuff” was green beans. They were ok, but I prob. won’t use them again unless I’m hard up for a vegetable.

    Leave a Reply

