And so it begins…

Our first anniversary celebration, that is!!  Eeep.  I’m so excited.  Our anniversary isn’t actually until Sunday (this is Thursday).  But our weekend starts today (Tim has tomorrow off!), and so do all the fun things we have planned. 

Tonight, Tim’s taking me to a new restaurant: Byram’s Lobster House.  It’s been frequented by such people as Ronald Reagan.  Plus we have a coupon.  And it’s supposed to be really, really good.  Yay!!  We’ve been out to eat alot lately, out of necessity–but this is just pure splurge.  Can’t wait.  I’m sitting here waiting for Tim to get home from work so we can go.  He should be calling any minute (it’s 5:15).  I took extra time with my hair (it’s styled as close to the wedding do as I can accomplish by  myself) and I’m wearing a dress he hasn’t seen in 3 years (a bridesmaid dress I wore to a friend’s wedding 1 week before we started dating).  It’s a filmy, low cut, yellow thing that he will LOVE.  Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! 

I made granola and yogurt for breakfast tomorrow.  YUM.  Then we’re trekking off to the mountains!  Crabtree Falls comes highly recommended.  Plus, I’ve got everything made for a yummy camp-fire cooked dinner after our hike.   I even remembered to buy sunscreen and bugspray today at Target (and used the last of our wedding gift cards to do so!). 

I made pecan carmel rolls for breakfast Saturday. I used the breadmaker.  It’s a new recipe, and they look SO YUMMY.  I’ll serve them with eggs and bacon.  MMMMMmmm.   We’ve got a few projects to work on around here, plus I’ve got a really special dinner planned.  Bourbon-Molasses Baby Back Ribs and sweet potatoes.   Cooked over our fire pit.  Which we haven’t used yet.  Can. not. wait. 

Sunday after church, we’re going to the beach!!  We’ve never been (together) to VA beach, but it’s only 1 1/2 hours.  We found a great looking stretch of beach that’s only accessible by a foot trail–it’s on a wildlife preserve, so there are rumored to be tons of birds, beautiful views, and not very many people!!  I’m bringing cheese and crackers and bananas and nutella.  Sounds perfect for a sunset picnic, no?  

I got Tim some fun little things–a pair of underwear (for me), a VA topographic atlas, some framed pictures for his desk, a couple books that someday he can use with our children (our anniversary just happens to fall on Father’s Day this year).   He helped me go to the Liquor store today to pick up the Bourbon.  It made it much less scary.  Now I have to look up drink recipes online for the extra whiskey!  

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again: I’m so thankful for the year of marriage we have under our belts.  It has NOT been what I expected.  It’s been a whole lot harder and a whole lot more wonderful.  I can’t imagine not being Tim’s wife.  I love to take care of him and make him happy.  I love how he takes care of me and makes me happy.  I love how easily he forgives and unconditionally he loves.  I have uncovered more selfishness in myself in the last year than I had in all the 23 before that combined.  That’s been the hardest part of the last year–dealing with my own self centered expectations–selfish ambitions and vain conceits, Paul calls them in Philippians.  But God is faithful over and over to show mercy.  Love covers a multitude of sins: God’s love for us, our love for Him, our love for each other.  One of my favorite verses this has been: “Where there is no wood, the fire goes out” (Proverbs 26).  It’s written on a note card by the kitchen sink.  My selfishness is always looking for fuel for its fire.  And usually, it’s pretty easy to f ind.  I married a sinner, and so did my husband.   I can feed the selfish fire.  I have, and it’s ugly.  Maybe not on the outside, but on the inside.  Ugly, ugly, ugly.  OR, I can put that fire right out.  No wood, no fire.  End of story.  Strife ceases. 

Well, Tim just called, and he’s on his way home.  He should be here just after 6.  Let the party begin!    

from the wedding getaway car

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

