Corn Dogs

It’s about time (okay, way past time) for another recipe.  My excuse: all the food blogs I read put up pictures with their recipes.  I did not have my camera cord.  I could not put up pictures.  Therefore, I could not share recipes.

Or something like that.

This week’s recipe: homemade corndogs.  If you are surprised, that means you didn’t know that I currently have 35 hotdogs in my fridge.  Tim and I are set for life.  And we don’t even really like hotdogs.

Billy, this is all your fault.  If you weren’t 6’7″ and I hadn’t planned to feed you supper only to have you realize at the last minute you couldn’t come to my brother’s wedding…I wouldn’t have a fridge full of hotdogs.  Instead, you’d have a belly full. 

Maybe your mom will make you corndogs:

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/4 cup sugar (or less)

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/8 cup olive oil

1/2 cup milk

1 egg, beaten

Combine all dry ingredients, then add oil, egg and milk to form a kneadable dough.  Work the dough into a large ball and divide into 8 portions.  Flatten each small portion between your palms and roll it around a hot dog.  Place the hotdogs on a cookie sheet or in a 9×13 pan.  Bake 400F for 20 minutes until done.  Serve with lots of ketchup immediately or refrigerate/freeze and reheat.

These things are my new favorite way to eat a hot dog.  Like ’em, Billy?  Well next time, come to my brother’s wedding.  Not that there will be a next time, actually. 

Oh, and by the way…how many hot dogs CAN you eat?!?! 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

