Hodgepodge

I have a love-hate relationship with ticks: they love me, I hate them.  Final tick counts for the weekend in Kentucky: Tim-4, Dad-6, Mom-7, Cristy-23.  I was tied with the dog.  Now THAT really makes me feel good about myself.  So does the fact that in certain circles, I’m now known as TickMag.  I think it’s my young, fertile smell.  Drives the ticks mad.  And other things that start with T.

I had a headache for most of yesterday afternoon/evening, but it was gone when I woke up!  Must have been that gimongous strawberry milkshake or maybe just the handsome young guy who bought it for me and the much needed, long overdue, extremely helpful talk we had while slurping it.

Speaking of things that start with T, I love him.

Over the weekend, I finished Trusting God in a Twisted World by Elizabeth Elliot and started Praying Backwards by Bryan Chapell.  I’m looking forward to it.

I have been in 6 states since Friday.

Our hotel room here in Atlanta has a king bed and a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs.  This ranks very high in my book.

I am so thankful for the 11 months between us and our wedding.

We heard a really good message from John Piper on Sunday about how the doctrines of grace apply to every day life, including prayer and evangelism.  It’s the last in a series called TULIP.  We appreciated the ending so much, we’re planning to buy the series.  You should, too.  Also heard a good sermon from Pastor John at my parents’ church on the importance of the church body/corporate worship to personal Christian growth.  A good reminder, especially seeing as I have so much growing to do.

I get to see my sister in ~10 days!!  I can’t wait.   Plus, we’re going to visit some of our best college friends in Florida just as soon as Tim finishes his work here in Atlanta.  That means like this weekend.  I really, really need the encouragement of all their fellowship.

I forgot to put sugar in my Amish-Friendship-Banana-Bread, but I really, really like how it turned out anyway.  YUM.  I brought some with us, and I think I’ll go have a piece as soon as I’m finished.

I like how motels provide a ‘do-not-disturb’ sign to hang on the door knob.  It’s nice.

I have a ton of shopping to do while I’m here.  Birthdays, babies, bachelorette parties, etc, etc.  I hope I can find some good stores that are really close to where we’re staying–I do NOT want to attempt traffic in a strange city with a car that’s not even ours.

I’ve just emerged from 4 solid days in mountain country, and it was GREAT.

I just realized that I really, really need to cut my toenails.

Like really, really really.

Like maybe I should go do that now.

  1. #1 by Grace on June 30, 2010 - 4:04 pm

    Cristy, you’re such a nerd!! I didn’t know you had a blog! I LOVE it!! BTW, my shoes don’t fit if my toenails get too long. Love you!

    ~gmn

    • #2 by Cristy on June 30, 2010 - 4:32 pm

      Yes ma’am I do, and now you know. I’m glad you like it. I feel your (toe) pain. My toenails grow like crazy. I think it must be my vitamins.

Leave a Reply

